A7 55TFsi Audi Drive Select Not Available

Sheroo

Registered User
Has anyone encountered this, I can see many options including chauffeur, off road etc but they are all greyed out. Any suggestions?
 

pthomps

Registered User
Can you show a picture? I've gfot an A7 55tfsi too, but I don't get any options for 'chauffeur' or 'off road', greyed out or otherwise!
 

El-Cap

Registered User
The drive select is a physical button not a software one so won’t be grayed out.

I assume you have found that?

There are too many buttons and options in some ways - I know that having spent a good few minutes hunting for the manual on switch for the Parking yesterday!!
 

Sheroo

Registered User
Physical buttons do nothing when pressed! I think Audi caused this after installing a new module as my rear spoiler stopped working. I'll have to take it back in.

Pics show options and then sometimes no options!
 

Attachments

  • Drive Select.jpg
    Drive Select.jpg
    131.5 KB · Views: 247
  • ADS 1.jpg
    ADS 1.jpg
    149.8 KB · Views: 277
  • ADS No Opt.jpg
    ADS No Opt.jpg
    139.2 KB · Views: 218

RJ-8V

Registered User
Software update at the dealership
 

El-Cap

Registered User
Must be the wrong software or something when they had it in the garage.

Bit worried about the spoiler module issue you had. I had an spoiler error message the day after I got the car. It was parked up engine off when the spoiler activated and it came up with the error. Been OK since then for the last week or so though.
 

RJ-8V

Registered User
I say that there are a lot of software updates released for the A6/A7/A8 (they share same modules and software). So ask your dealership to update everything.
 

Sheroo

Registered User
Thanks for the feedback gents, the car has gone in for a number of recalls but I do think it is related to the rear spoiler control module. FYI, that issue ref the rear spoiler resulted in it not releasing at all and the console 'soft button' greying out. Took an age for Audi to source the relevant control module.

I've also noticed a glitch with the advanced key in that sometimes it does not sense my touch when opening/locking the doors. I'm going to have to ask the dealership to update everything.

Can you guys please advise what software version your cars are running?
 

El-Cap

Registered User
I’m on MH2p-ER-AUG35-P2647

Looking at your display you have a Lane Assist button on your lower MMI. I don’t have that - just the physical button on the stalk.
 

pthomps

Registered User
So attached are screenshots of my display, also from a A7 55tfsi, including software versions. I've manually updated my navigation database(s) recently.. My car goes in for its first service tomorrow, a year after purchase - the dealer said that there were a 'number of software updates' that they would be applying.. I'm hoping from all the comments that this isn't going to screw the car up! :sadlike:
 

Attachments

  • 20191218_134551.jpg
    20191218_134551.jpg
    102.2 KB · Views: 241
  • 20191218_134814.jpg
    20191218_134814.jpg
    111.2 KB · Views: 260

Sheroo

Registered User
I'm wondering if it's possible to ask our local dealership to run a full scan and share the results with us, or even better see it whilst it's being done? I've hooked an OBDEleven to my car and it's showing faults on 10 modules!! Eeeek!!
 

Sheroo

Registered User
My software version is MH2p_ER_AUG35_P2470, so it's good to know there is an update available in P2647.

pthomps - How did you update your nav database? Mine is V03959804B_P0210_EU_2018.1
 

pthomps

Registered User
My software version is MH2p_ER_AUG35_P2470, so it's good to know there is an update available in P2647.

pthomps - How did you update your nav database? Mine is V03959804B_P0210_EU_2018.1

So you need to logon to my.audi.com and select 'Features'. From there you can download the installer for latest map update (see screenshot). I used a Windows 10 PC, and you need Java client installed. Also (for me, anyway) I had to associate the .jnlp installer file with 'Java Web Start' to get the download working.. Once downloaded, copy all the downloaded file(s) to an SD card and insert the SD card into the car, which after a minute or so will automatically detect the map update and prompt whether you want to install it.

All a bit of a pain really; my understanding is that the car is supposed to automatically detect when there's a map update available and prompt to install over the air. But mine never has. Maybe it will after tomorrow's software update! ;-)
 

Attachments

  • my_audi.jpg
    my_audi.jpg
    51 KB · Views: 234

El-Cap

Registered User
My car updated its maps after a couple of days of ownership. I was worried that it would use all my data up, but seems to have used the in car sim to do it which was a bonus! Be interesting how yours performs after the update.
 
Seems to be so many niggles in these A7s!
 
We had a full lower screen replacement on our A6 at 2,000 miles!
 
whole unit was loose - when you pressed anywhere on the right had side it squeeked and moved. Also had blue screen of death on it a few times. The entire headliner was replaced as well due to broken plastic pins meaning it rattled over rough roads. Car was 3 month old at the time!
It still has rattles from the dash and its what turned me away from an A7 55tfsi desipte a ridiculously good offer on monthlies.
 

pthomps

Registered User
So attached is the software version after the car was serviced yesterday - apparently the update took several hours..

Now running MH2p_ER_AUG35_P2470
 

Attachments

  • 20191220_120424.jpg
    20191220_120424.jpg
    116.9 KB · Views: 281

El-Cap

Registered User
So attached is the software version after the car was serviced yesterday - apparently the update took several hours..

Now running MH2p_ER_AUG35_P2470

Hopefully that improves things for you.

Do you still have the button on the lower MMI for the lane assist - or has it gone?
 

pthomps

Registered User
To be honest, there wasn't much to improve - my car's been pretty flawless compared to others on here.. I still have the lane assist button, and it's always been there. In fact, I've got an additional button now to the shortcut menu (it was a swipe before to show the shortcuts)
 
I checked back on the deal I was offered and prices have gone up a little since.
55TFSI S Line comfort and sound = 3841 dep and 426 a month
55 TFSI Black Ed comfort and sound = 4116 dep and 457 a month

My previous offer was;
55TFSI S Line comfort and sound = 3712 dep and 413 a month

Not earth shattering but decent when looking what else is out there.
 

pthomps

Registered User
That would seem logical- but maybe the version is different on a 50tdi? The gearbox is different for one.. I dunno, that's what they put on the car, and I didn't challenge them..
 

pthomps

Registered User
So you need to logon to my.audi.com and select 'Features'. From there you can download the installer for latest map update (see screenshot). I used a Windows 10 PC, and you need Java client installed. Also (for me, anyway) I had to associate the .jnlp installer file with 'Java Web Start' to get the download working.. Once downloaded, copy all the downloaded file(s) to an SD card and insert the SD card into the car, which after a minute or so will automatically detect the map update and prompt whether you want to install it.

All a bit of a pain really; my understanding is that the car is supposed to automatically detect when there's a map update available and prompt to install over the air. But mine never has. Maybe it will after tomorrow's software update! ;-)

Ok, so since the update, the navigation database was automatically updated over the air yesterday (it prompted me via the touch screen whilst I was driving). This is the first time it's ever done that, so it must be down to the update.. So I'm now running version '2020.2', but curiously only for the region I was driving in at the time..
 

Attachments

  • map1.PNG
    map1.PNG
    944.1 KB · Views: 284
  • map2.PNG
    map2.PNG
    978.1 KB · Views: 272
Top