A3 Sportback Alloys

newa3

Reaction score
Hi,

Just bought myself an Audi A3 sport. I would like to replace the alloys on the car and have a few questions please.

1. Where is the best place to get alloys+tyres in a package deal?

2. What are the cons of putting 19" alloys on my car? can it be done?

3. What alloys will look nice on a star silver A3?

I am new to all this, 1st time I've brought alloys. Any help would be much appreciate.

Ps. also can i change my DRL's to look like the S-line drl's?

First of all, welcome! Now get some pics up (pretty standard request on here, everyone loves pics). What age is the car? Do you know if it's 8P1, 2 or 3?

1. Depends on the wheels you're after - go to the rimz thread (sticky at the top of the forum) if you're in need of inspiration, plenty of wheels all shapes and sizes (well, maybe not all shapes). There are plenty of options online for replica wheels, but I'd always recommend getting genuine ones, either off ebay or from a member on here through the classifieds section. Once you know what wheels you want, then we can help narrow the search. Regardless, I'd recommend camskill.com for the tyres, and pay someone locally to fit them - it'll almost always work out cheaper than getting a package deal.

2. It can definitely be done, but:
a) less room for a tyre sidewall, so ride suffers a bit
b) on standard suspension the bigger wheel will make the car ride higher, and with less tyre underneath it'll look like it's on stilts
c) depending on the width and ET (offset) of the wheel, lowering can be an issue

3. Down to personal taste, but anthracite will probably work better on silver that silver.

DRLs from sport to S-Line... I've already proved today that I'm not much help on these matters, someone'll be along who can advise you properly (probably Nigel - NHN)

Thanks will get some pics up soon, not sure what 8p1, 2 or 3 is but hopefully with pics you'll be able to tell me.