a3 quattro gearbox help please

lloyd davies

Reaction score
hi i recently bought a 2006 a3 2.0 tdi quattro 6 speed manual 170bhp. i am lookimg for a gearbox for it my code is JLY but its proving difficuilt to find one. could someone with more knowleage than me help me out as to what other gearbox codes i could use for roughly the same gear ratios but would fit the vehicle and accocmodate the transfer box. any help would be great please i am new to the audi world and have no idea on their engine/gearbox codes at the moment and cant find any informative information. thanks

Have you had the box checked out by a dsg expert? Some faults can be rectified simply by those who know.

haha. thanks for the link. yea iv had a look on ebay but cannot find a exact match on there. thats why i was hopefull someone on here knows every gearbox code and what they fit.. it looks to me that my transfer box will bolt to some 2wd boxes but again i need.someome who has done it to confirm or deny before i go buying a gearbox and telling the garage it will work. thanks

the problem with my gearbox is a leek on the final drive seal on the end of the box. and a stripped thread on the top gearbox mount i wanted a direct replacement because its easier to get a garage to take on the job of a gearbox swap than the above mentioned jobs. and then i would also have a spare once i fixed the problems on the floor.

The quattro seems to have a lower gear ratio than front wheel drive in the a3

A family members 2.0tdi fwd sits around 2k rpm at 70mph in 6th

My 8p quattro 170 sits at 2200 in 6th

Maybe the difference for the code

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk