A3 8P 1.9 TDI 2006 Lowering!

alexmarin

Reaction score
Hi again peeps.

Plenty of threads that helped me out, but it doesn't compare having your own thread with specifics.

My 8P needs lowering. I'm currently on standard 18" S-Line wheels, and I'm thinking of lowering it.

I don't have a massive budget, and I'm not willing to spend loads so I'm looking for the cheap alternatives. I was initially considering 35mm but a few looks around made me decide that the lowering is not so major so I'm not going to spend money on something that won't make a difference to the looks so I'm considering 45-50mm.

Anyone experienced these springs? http://www.awesomegti.com/car/audi/...ack-cabrio-05-03-typ-8p-2wd-tiefe-low-version

Are they too low? How much headache will they give me? Will I have any major issues going across bumps? Do I need anything else like shock absorbers to go along with it?

I'm not too good at cars, specifically when it comes to performance, but I can appreciate good looks as long as the function won't suffer. I'm aware that money = better looks and performance from better things like coilovers, but that's for future plans.

This is ride as it stands atm.:

Attachments

• IMG_20140919_190339.jpg
    IMG_20140919_190339.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 4,337
On the S-line model the H&R 50mm springs will give a round a 30-35mm drop. There's quite a few different threads about them and I also think there's a few pictures kicking about with them fitted.

How many miles have your current dampers covered?

Damian @ DPM Performance

Hi Damian. Yes, just the wheels are, not the car itself. I wouldn't think so.. I believe everything else is standard.

The car's got 136k on the clock, and I'm unaware of the dampers being replaced.

So if you've got future plans of getting coilovers, what's the thinking behind getting springs?

Surely it would make more sense just to save up for coilovers to start with, then you'd be able to make your car sit exactly how you want it.