1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

8V VCDS Mods

Silky-S3 Jan 5, 2014

  1. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,707
    5,128
    113
    Get yourself added to the VCDS map if you have not already.
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. mark holloway

    mark holloway Registered User

    35
    3
    8
    Auto summer time clock adjust. Is this possible on the PFL A3 8V? If so, what's the coding please.
     
  4. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,707
    5,128
    113
    cannot be done via traditional coding
     
  5. glospete

    glospete Registered User

    1,640
    1,146
    113
    Hi Mark

    Yes I've done it on my 2014 PFL A3 8V. You'll need to make some changes using a VCDS cable (genuine not a knock-off!):

    1. 5F - Information Elect.
    2 Adaptatopm - 10
    3. Channel = Summertime automatic
    4. Enter New Value

    Possible Values:
    • None
    • Manual
    • Europe (Automatic)
    • USA
    • Automatic (does not work - Request out of Range error)
    NB - Audi UK Default = Manual

    Now using the Europe (Automatic) setting the DST changes automatically.

    Hope this helps, but of course usual disclaimer applies (i.e. don't blame me if something goes wrong!)
    Peter
     
    Marky79 likes this.
  6. Marky79

    Marky79 Registered User

    318
    131
    43
    That’s a handy one I’ve not seen posted anywhere before. Something new to code. LOL.
    Cheers.
     
  7. T-1000

    T-1000 Registered User

    1,173
    1,114
    113
    I changed mine back in 17 when I got the car, think 500ms is the lowest it’ll go. Makes a difference though.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. T-1000

    T-1000 Registered User

    1,173
    1,114
    113
    Not sure as I don’t use OBD11.

    Seems too hit and miss to me.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. vw754

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    2,512
    70
    48
    Its old this, bit
    THANKS
    Cant do this on my s3 8v.....its been disabled the stop start has, so i went into adaption 10 in can gateway.... And put in - 50 to activate stop /start..... But each time it say request out of range.
     
  10. Clod

    Clod 2017 Audi NA A3 S-line

    36
    2
    8
    • This should work
    • IMG_20201128_142256.jpg
     
  11. MisterT-28

    MisterT-28 New Member

    19
    1
    3
    Hi BPRS3 / Hi DJAlix,

    Well I have a question slighty the same as BPRS3 : on my SQ7 (end-2016) I do not have

    A5 >> Frt Sens Drv Assist >> byte 1 >> bit 0 to FTE
    BUT
    A5 >> Frt Sens Drv Assist >> byte 16 >> bit 4 "VZE" that I tried to put to 1, no luck on this

    My steps were :

    5F > Adaptation > ENG122229-ENG117754-Car_Function_List_BAP_Gen2-traffic_sign_recognition_0x21
    Activated
    5F > Adaptation > ENG122229-ENG117636-Car_Function_Adaptations_Gen2-menu_display_road_sign_identification
    Activated

    A5 > Coding > byte 16 > bit 4 "VZE" to 1
    A5 > 20103 > Adaptation > IDE04733-Road sign etection fusion mode > Fusion

    [17 - Instruments] > Coding > byte 5 bit 2 to 1 (traffic_sign_display_BAP)

    I am lost ... I do have the menu in display but saying "Not available" ...

    Any idea ?

    And ...

    ... HAPPY NEW YEAR :)
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,707
    5,128
    113
    Have you flashed / updated your A5 with the needed software?

    Edit: and happy new year!
     
  14. MisterT-28

    MisterT-28 New Member

    19
    1
    3
    Well, you pointed out the problem ... do you have any idea where I can find the "updated" software for A5 ?

    My A5 is a 4M0 907 217 D / BVS H14 0042 ...

    And moreover, I was not able to "code" byte 1 bit 0 to 1 (even with LCode 2) I am not sure I am doing this well ...
     
  15. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,707
    5,128
    113
    Not something you can “find” unfortunately. You would require specialist software like VCP-System. Better to visit someone like myself I would have thought.
     
  16. MisterT-28

    MisterT-28 New Member

    19
    1
    3
    Ouch, will need to find someone in France ... well ok, thanks, I think I am almost done with coding apparently I am stuck in a software update issue.
    Do you know how I can "check" my current exact software release/content ?
    I am using VCDS 20.12.0.1 with (of course) an original cable.

    Many thanks again for your help and prompt reply ;-)
     
  17. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,707
    5,128
    113
    It’s not a software version, ie operating system type update which you need, you need the layer that sits between the operating system and your coding / adaptation which is not visible to VCDS caped parameters. “We” just call this a software update, or flash.
     
  18. MisterT-28

    MisterT-28 New Member

    19
    1
    3
    OK, got it, crystal clear :)
    I was confused by that post : https://www.clubaudi.ro/threads/tra...oastere-semne-circulatie-la-audi-q7-4m.56704/
    So definitively I will need what "you" call VCP to finish that coding ;-)
    I am surprised by the fact that traffic-sign-recog can be "enabled" by on-demand functions with Audi Connect subscription ... so that's why I am surprised that "software" can be remotely modified ...

    Thanks again for explanations !
     
  19. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,707
    5,128
    113
    Not for your vehicle. You have a 2016 Q7 4M. Over the air / on demand purchases are for the 2020+ vehicles with newer systems. Think you might be getting GPS database based speed sign display confused with traffic sign recognition.
     
  20. MisterT-28

    MisterT-28 New Member

    19
    1
    3
    OK, got it.
    So I have display of the function, but stuck with "not available" status ... until I can "update" the A5 module ...

    IMG_9678.jpg
     
  21. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,707
    5,128
    113
    Correct.
     
  22. MisterT-28

    MisterT-28 New Member

    19
    1
    3
    But I am satisfied with 2 successful coding :

    17 >> Coding >> Octet 10 (byte 10) >> bit 2 :
    and
    17 >> Coding >> Octet 15 (byte 15) >> bit 4:

    image2.jpeg

    image1.jpeg

    image0.jpeg

    That's cool ...
     
  23. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,707
    5,128
    113
  24. MisterT-28

    MisterT-28 New Member

    19
    1
    3
    Not yet, will have a try tomorrow.
    I read some times that this needs couple of kilometers to work.
    I did not saw any coding page discussing about this ...
     
    DJAlix likes this.
  25. MisterT-28

    MisterT-28 New Member

    19
    1
    3
    Well, very busy day ... was out a couple of miutes, neither accelerometer nor engine statistics were working ... I suppose I need to find out the appropriate adaptation. SQ7 should have like TT or RS the good sensors for that ...
     
  26. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,707
    5,128
    113
    You won’t get it working as 1) you need the sensors and 2) your ECU map needs to have the features on also.
     
  27. MisterT-28

    MisterT-28 New Member

    19
    1
    3
    I crawled into some documents and did not find any "documentation" on this.
    What "sensors" are we talking about ? (for accelerometer ?)
    And regarding Engine Control Unit map for engine statistics feature ... is this something feasible or is this only for some RS / TT models ?
    Thanks for your knowledge
     
  28. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,707
    5,128
    113
    They are incorporated in to the ABS and Airbag control modules
     
  29. MisterT-28

    MisterT-28 New Member

    19
    1
    3
    Good to know :)
    I will investigate what I can do with ABS and Airbags modules to check if something is possible within ...
    Did you have any try with this with your SQ5 ?
     
  30. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,707
    5,128
    113
    I already knew it would not work in a stock configuration, and For it to work on mine I would need to edit my ECU map, something I am not willing to do on a car that has only just done 500miles lol
     
    T-1000 likes this.
  31. danielos77

    danielos77 New Member

    20
    0
    1
    Hi,
    where I find file PDF from DJAlix with coding. I don't see
     
  32. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,707
    5,128
    113
    In the trash, it no longer exists.
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. MisterT-28

    MisterT-28 New Member

    19
    1
    3
    Well I think I found the dynamometer in the ABS :

    upload_2021-1-7_17-32-14.png

    I will have some try with this ...
     
  35. MisterT-28

    MisterT-28 New Member

    19
    1
    3
    But I did not find anything within the Airbag module ... anyone with a TT / RS that could have a look at the adaptation channels ?
     
  36. MisterT-28

    MisterT-28 New Member

    19
    1
    3
    Well I found something interesting : Dynamometer channel adaptation exists in 5F and 01

    upload_2021-2-3_21-59-18.png

    upload_2021-2-3_22-0-24.png

    I will try to grab some infos about that adaptation maybe I will have a try ...
     
  37. Clod

    Clod 2017 Audi NA A3 S-line

    36
    2
    8
    I believe that disconnects the rear differential so that you can dyno the car.
     
  38. Daniela3

    Daniela3 Registered User

    46
    3
    8
    hi hope all are well

    i have upgraded my a3 saloon from a 2015 to a 2019 facelift. i have done all my usual vcds mods just can not get Rain closing to work or mirror dip in reverse could any one help?

    thank you
     
  39. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,707
    5,128
    113
    Mirror dip won’t work as you now need folding mirrors.
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information