1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

8V A3 1.4 to 2.0 Conversion

JaiR May 21, 2019

  1. JaiR

    JaiR Registered User

    2
    0
    1
    Hey guys I'm contemplating buying a 2018 a3 Sportback but after driving one I'm not really impressed with the the power. I was wondering if once I bought it I would be able to swap out the 1.4 to the stronger 2.0 engine, not the one on the S3 but the one that's another option for the a3.


    Before you comment "buy a 2.0 a3!" Or "Buy an S3" you have to understand where I live. A 2018 A3 1.4 here costs around 40,000 us dollars because of our taxes. Recently an S3 was imported at a cost of 120,000 and I'm not planning on paying that kind of money. So please don't tell me to buy another car just let me know if anything like this may be possible. I'm okay with spending up to half the price of the vehicle. Thanks in advance for your help.
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. Mikeso51

    Mikeso51 Registered User

    239
    100
    28
    Which 1.4 are you looking at? The most powerful is 150bhp, and IMHO uquite lively. You can also get it remapped to be over 190bhp. Much much cheaper than changing engines.
     
  4. JaiR

    JaiR Registered User

    2
    0
    1
    I believe it is 148hp. In terms of remaps I don't know any good places here but do you know any tuning "chips" or tuning "boxes" that you could recommend?
     
  5. Mikeso51

    Mikeso51 Registered User

    239
    100
    28
    I have no personal experience, but DTUK tuning boxes get good write-ups. A box for the 1.4tfsi 150 bhp engine claims a 35 bhp power increase for around £400. Others on the forum can probably advise you regarding remapping companies.
     
  6. Bluepower

    Bluepower Registered User

    252
    71
    28
    Start with: where are you from? What will a 2.0(you're talking about the 2.0 turbocharged engine) cost complete with wiring loom, ECU, all ancillaries? Can you do the swap yourself? do you have access to VCDS for coding?
     
  7. cuke2u

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    12,888
    5,231
    113
    Fitting a tuning box on it would be far cheaper and le
    I have had, and still have, DTUK tuning boxes and they're a very good product. @ABYSS is a AS site sponsor and happy to answer any of your questions. I still have the one I had fitted to my 140ps 1.4 A3 saloon and it certainly makes a difference with the torque increase...
     
  8. makelja

    makelja Registered User

    306
    244
    43
    I have an H&P Motortuning Powerbox on my 1.4TFSI (150Hp). It gives extra 36Hp and 60Nm of torque. Makes the car very nice to drive.
    Check this site: www.mehrleistung.com , I bought it from there. Happy with it and delivery took only three days.
     
  9. dg-1984

    dg-1984 Registered User

    473
    89
    28
    Is
    Is yours a cod engine?
     
  10. makelja

    makelja Registered User

    306
    244
    43
    Yes it is. CZEA is the engine code.
     
  11. dg-1984

    dg-1984 Registered User

    473
    89
    28
    How did you find the engine for COD function after remap? Is yours a manual? If so did the clutch hold up with extra torque?
    What year and mileage has you car done.
    Mine is a 14 plate with 30k on it and was wondering about mapping.
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. dmpx

    dmpx Registered User

    44
    56
    18
    I had a remap on my A3 1.4 COD engine - The COD worked perfectly after the remap and the clutch never missed a beat.

    Mine had 108k on it when I sold it. Brilliant little engine imo.
     
  14. Mikeso51

    Mikeso51 Registered User

    239
    100
    28
    Dmpx. That’s very interesting. If you don’t mind me asking, who did the remap, and how did it compare with the £400 cost of a tuning box?
     
  15. dmpx

    dmpx Registered User

    44
    56
    18
    I had a local tuning company in Belfast do the tune for approx £280 incl. dyno runs.

    It went from 141bhp to 187bhp on the final version of the map. It transformed the car tbh
     
    Mikeso51 likes this.
  16. Mikeso51

    Mikeso51 Registered User

    239
    100
    28
    Thanks. Very impressive performance improvement at very reasonable cost. Definitely on the list for when my warranty runs out!

    Just a pity that your tuner is across the water from me.
     
  17. makelja

    makelja Registered User

    306
    244
    43
    Mine is S-Tronic. And the clutch hold well. No problems so far.
    Mine is 2017 and 32k km on the meter. Just out of warranty in April.
     
  18. dg-1984

    dg-1984 Registered User

    473
    89
    28
    Was yours a manual?
     
  19. dmpx

    dmpx Registered User

    44
    56
    18
    Yep. 2014 manual saloon S-Line
     
  20. dg-1984

    dg-1984 Registered User

    473
    89
    28
    Excellent thanks that's good news, no issues with clutch slipping or anything?
     
  21. dmpx

    dmpx Registered User

    44
    56
    18
    Not even a hint - Car ran better than before the remap right up until I sold it.

    Better powerband, more torque and better MPG.
     
  22. dg-1984

    dg-1984 Registered User

    473
    89
    28
    Just checked out the site and for roughly £250 seems pretty good. Are they easy to fit? And do they come with just one map or are they switchable?
     
  23. makelja

    makelja Registered User

    306
    244
    43
    Takes about 10min to install. Need to remove the airfilter box from the side which is closer to the front. But if you have small hands then that is not needed. I placed the PowerBox between battery and the suspension mount.
    There is only one map.
    This is my third PowerBox from same supplier. Always been happy with them in different cars. Better than RaceChip, which I have had one.
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information