2018 Europe Maps (now available)

Datastorm

Registered User
I just noticed the 2018 maps are now available to download......except it seems I've now hit the 5 download limit on my 2015 A3

Not all heroes wear capes, but if anybody can grab the 2018 UK map and host it somewhere I'd be eternally grateful.
 

The Challinor

Registered User
I just noticed the 2018 maps are now available to download......except it seems I've now hit the 5 download limit on my 2015 A3

Not all heroes wear capes, but if anybody can grab the 2018 UK map and host it somewhere I'd be eternally grateful.

Aren’t the updates hard coded to your My Audi account and your car? Not sure you can share them from another source.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: GW1

Matty_S3&S5

Registered User
For all our Oceania members, Australia (and NZ) 2018 maps are up for download too :)
 

Rob2k68

Well-Known Member
VCDS Map User
Thanks for the heads up.

Hosting is of no use without licence renewal there is some sort of date or counter hard coded in your MMI.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
 

Lawrence Ellul

Registered User
how can i download the maps? Cant find the option in the MyAudi personal account. My car is a 66 plate A3 with SD navigation
 

glospete

Registered User
how can i download the maps? Cant find the option in the MyAudi personal account. My car is a 66 plate A3 with SD navigation

Unfortunately you can’t use these download maps. With SD nav you need to buy a replacement card I’m afraid.
 

kevpuk

Registered User
OK, so probably being dumb, but I downloaded the whole 13+GB file, stuck them on SD card, but car does not seem to recognise?
Any tips on the specific file structure needed or similar - haven't had much searching as always end up with results about SD based navigation :(
 

cemerson

Registered User
You should just be able to go to the update section in the MMI, point it at the SD card with the files on, and it should pick it up.

Am I right in thinking the FL car updates the nav over the air, or have I completely made that up? Don't want to download everything if not necessary...
 

B5NUT

Well-Known Member
VCDS Map User
How did you format the SD card? Also are the files at the root level or did you put them in a folder on the SD card? It should look like this

upload_2017-11-16_18-18-29.png
 

JDHOWELLS

Registered User
You should just be able to go to the update section in the MMI, point it at the SD card with the files on, and it should pick it up.

Am I right in thinking the FL car updates the nav over the air, or have I completely made that up? Don't want to download everything if not necessary...

Yep - I updated mine on drive to work
 

deangelj

Registered User
For all our Oceania members, Australia (and NZ) 2018 maps are up for download too :)
Are you sure? I see a line item, but when I download I just get the 2017 maps (the line below). Have you got 2018 Aus installed?

thanks
 

allanmb

Registered User
Yep - I updated mine on drive to work

Really? How do you get it to update over the air? I updated mine via SD card last time but would much rather just do it OTA
 

kevpuk

Registered User
How did you format the SD card? Also are the files at the root level or did you put them in a folder on the SD card? It should look like this

View attachment 141818
Yep, that is what I had, although there was also other stuff on the root level......turns out it is the SD (microSD in an adapter) that is playing up - it cannot be formatted, even with specialist tool from SDcard.org, and what is on there cannot be deleted....I took a 128GB card out of my camcorder and used that and it was fine!
 

The Challinor

Registered User
In the mmi menu one of the options is to download online straight to car. Simple as that.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Does that work over the built in 4G connection then on the FL?
 

The Challinor

Registered User

Lehn

Registered User
Not like Audi to be giving out all that free data

I was only able to choose 3 updates when trying to update through LTE. (E.g. Denmark, North Germany and East Germany). Now all the other countries are greyed out. SD Card update it is.
 

The Challinor

Registered User
Certainly does, so simple. Looks like many owners have not worked this out yet?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yep, looks that way. Should have done that on the PFL.
 

oli356

Registered User
I updated to the 2018 UK maps last night, I only updated as I bought my S3 a couple of months ago and at the weekend traveled home on a road that the nav didn't recognise, hopefully now it does.

I downloaded the 25 GB or whatever it was and put it on the SD card and updated, however... I wasn't sure if I could just exit the car (I was at home parked up), would I need the engine turned on to keep the MMI turned on? I ended up just sitting in the car for 1 hour while it updated clicking buttons every now and then .....
 

azibux1

Registered User
I updated to the 2018 UK maps last night, I only updated as I bought my S3 a couple of months ago and at the weekend traveled home on a road that the nav didn't recognise, hopefully now it does.

I downloaded the 25 GB or whatever it was and put it on the SD card and updated, however... I wasn't sure if I could just exit the car (I was at home parked up), would I need the engine turned on to keep the MMI turned on? I ended up just sitting in the car for 1 hour while it updated clicking buttons every now and then .....
If you turn the car off, it will carry on where it left off when you restart :)
 

oli356

Registered User
If you turn the car off, it will carry on where it left off when you restart :)
Ahh OK great. It said about not removing the sd card so I figured turning the car off wouldn't be good either, didn't want to risk corrupting the nav system or something!

Thanks for clarifying.
 

Daveotto

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Certainly does, so simple. Looks like many owners have not worked this out yet?

Including me

I was only able to choose 3 updates when trying to update through LTE. (E.g. Denmark, North Germany and East Germany). Now all the other countries are greyed out. SD Card update it is.


In the uk I was able to select every European country
If you turn the car off, it will carry on where it left off when you restart :)

Great as I am downloading updates for the whole of Europe

Not like Audi to be giving out all that free data

Nope, so gonna fill my boots with whole of Europe map updates now
 

Trevolly

Registered User
Can I ask how I download the map package from the myaudi website as when i select either complete package or GB maps and then prepare package it immediately offers a file with the extension of .jnlp which i can't seem to do anything with....

Screen Shot 2017-11-18 at 10.37.14.png
 

oli356

Registered User
Can I ask how I download the map package from the myaudi website as when i select either complete package or GB maps and then prepare package it immediately offers a file with the extension of .jnlp which i can't seem to do anything with....

View attachment 141891
It needs to open with Java, the java app then downloads the actual map data.

If you navigate to the folder the JNLP file is in, right click it and “Open With.” Select the “Java Web Start Launcher” application in the list or click “Browse,” browse to the “C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre[version]\bin” folder on your computer and double-click the “Javaws.exe” program file. Browse to the “Program FIles” directory if you don’t see the “Program Files (x86)” directory.
 

FredrikA3

Registered User
Quick question. I got Navi through the SD card. I am not connected online. Was told to contact Audi for updates but should I be able to do this free update as well?
 

glospete

Registered User
Unfortunately no. If you have SD card nav the the only option is to buy a new card from your Audi dealer. And before you ask, no you can’t copy someone else’s card. It won’t work as they are coded to your MMI.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

FredrikA3

Registered User
Unfortunately no. If you have SD card nav the the only option is to buy a new card from your Audi dealer. And before you ask, no you can’t copy someone else’s card. It won’t work as they are coded to your MMI.

That was what I thought. Thanks for the quick response. My map is from 2017 so I’ll wait a bit as the updates is pretty expensive at Audi.
 

AL_B

Registered User
In the mmi menu one of the options is to download online straight to car. Simple as that.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

This has never worked on my FL. Login details are correct etc. So I ended up going down the SD card route
 

cemerson

Registered User
Took me a while to get the download going from the car, but I've updated some of it now. You can only choose 2 or 3 regions at a time to download and it's not really clear how to start the download if you decide to choose additional regions, so I'm just going to download the whole lot to SD and update it that way. Less faff.
 

Fatbloke

Registered User
I can login ok to myaudi via my phone but it won't login via the car. Keeps saying incorrect username or password.

Got the car a few months ago, used. Do I need to do a factory reset on the mmi and setup from scratch?
 

oli356

Registered User
I can login ok to myaudi via my phone but it won't login via the car. Keeps saying incorrect username or password.

Got the car a few months ago, used. Do I need to do a factory reset on the mmi and setup from scratch?
Possibly stupid question but, on your car do you actually have to enter a username and password? On mine I just have to enter a pin code that I received via email. However it logs me out every time the ignition has been turned off for a while so I have to login again -.-

"Dear Mr xxxxx,
Please enter the following PIN on the Multi Media Interface (MMI) of your vehicle to use Audi connect Infotainment services:

Your myAudi PIN: xxxxxxxx
Have fun using myAudi
Your myAudi Team"
 

Fatbloke

Registered User
Possibly stupid question but, on your car do you actually have to enter a username and password? On mine I just have to enter a pin code that I received via email. However it logs me out every time the ignition has been turned off for a while so I have to login again -.-

"Dear Mr xxxxx,
Please enter the following PIN on the Multi Media Interface (MMI) of your vehicle to use Audi connect Infotainment services:

Your myAudi PIN: xxxxxxxx
Have fun using myAudi
Your myAudi Team"

Where would I find a pin number? It does say username/password or pin number. I don't know what the pin number is.
 

oli356

Registered User
Where would I find a pin number? It does say username/password or pin number. I don't know what the pin number is.
I guess if yours asks for a user/pass then it doesn't mater, must be different between the cars... when I had setup my Audi account and login here - https://login.audi.com/login/#/en/GB/login
On the Audi Connect > Overview page it shows the pin.

Ok I see the guide here does say to login using a pin or myAudi login data - https://my.audi.com/content/dam/myaudi/brochures/quickstart/quick-start-guide-en.pdf so guess you just have to use your user/pass... odd how it doesn't work then!
 

Attachments

  • Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    225.6 KB · Views: 328

JDHOWELLS

Registered User
Possibly stupid question but, on your car do you actually have to enter a username and password? On mine I just have to enter a pin code that I received via email. However it logs me out every time the ignition has been turned off for a while so I have to login again -.-

"Dear Mr xxxxx,
Please enter the following PIN on the Multi Media Interface (MMI) of your vehicle to use Audi connect Infotainment services:

Your myAudi PIN: xxxxxxxx
Have fun using myAudi
Your myAudi Team"

my car somehow gets my login in details from my phone via bluetooth so i never have to login - not sure how that works!!
 
Top