2.8 Quattro misfire

tomti

Reaction score
hi chaps, today i bought a 1997 quattro 2.8 v6 with a couple problems and hope you can help.

It has a misfire, not all the time, but most of the time. Well it feels like its always on idle and low revs, but if you rev it, sometimes its fine over 2-3000 revs and other times (most of the) its all the way through the rev range.
The fella i bought it off reckons he recently replaced the plugs and also the mass air meter, which does look new so i kinda believe him on that but its still there. Im thinking maybe its a coilpack mucking around???

Im new to audi's so was wondering if anyone could offer some advice or tell me if theres a common problem on the 2.8s that i could check?

Cheers, Tom

Check the plugs have been gapped properly first, then see how it runs with the MAF disconnected. Could well be the coilpack though.

I would get it checked for error codes aswell and see if its got anything logged about the problem.

Cheers for the replies guys, I've just booked it into my mates garage for Monday so he can stick it on the diagnostic machine. I'll let you know what happens :)

also, tried unplugging the maf whilst the car was idling and the engine dies straight away. Is is supposed to do that?

I had a similar problem but not so severe, appeared after the CO / fuelling was reset (lowered) for the MOT. Was only on pick up from low revs, I switched to Super Unleaded and it`s all but disappeared.

tomti - any news ?

Last edited:
just been down to see how my mates getting on. He was waiting on another set of leads. 3 of the originals were f*cked so im hoping thats where the problem lies.
You gotta love buying cars off evilbay lol. The seller claimed its had new plugs and leads. Well, the plugs are new at least but not the leads. Also it had a blow from the exhaust, and the fella reckons its had new cats but is blowing from where they join the centre pipe.