1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xenons

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by tdi-man, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. tdi-man
    Offline

    tdi-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Feb 2, 2010]
    thinking of putting xenons in my a3 the single bulb sort not bi ones do i need an adaptor lead does any body noe any one in uk that does this lead ?

    thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 2, 2010]
    The standard xenon's are a direct fit, you just need to use vagcom to tell the car it has them.
    #2
  4. tdi-man
    Offline

    tdi-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Feb 2, 2010]
    oh right thats good news then i have vagcom ..can you adjust the height of them with vag com as im not installing the auto levelers
    #3
  5. vw754
    Offline

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,016
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Feb 2, 2010]
    dont they pop the wiper motor?
    #4
  6. A3Bash
    Offline

    A3Bash Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 2, 2010]
    I think only fake HID's pop the wiper motor.....hate them with passion
    #5
  7. tdi-man
    Offline

    tdi-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Feb 2, 2010]
    no thats the aftermarket hids....

    i just bought a set of xenons so need some help any body local with single xenons that i can plug mine into to set them to mot mode ......

    thanks
    #6
  8. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 2, 2010]
    You cant adjust the height using vagcom (even if you can?) as you dont have the module that controls the height installed. The module also wouldn't work right without the leveling motors installed either. There will be the normal adjustment screws, hopefully you can get enough adjustment off of those. I guess you could line car up against a wall and mark off where the lights line up to including the break off point and then when you fit new ones make sure they line up up/down & left right.
    #7
  9. tdi-man
    Offline

    tdi-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Feb 3, 2010]
    ok many thanks so i need to plug them in to someones car to adjust to normal height and unplug them while there on....then refit to my car and manual adjust ?
    #8

Share This Page