1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xenon headlight auto adjust

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by LandSpeed, Dec 14, 2010.

  1. LandSpeed
    Offline

    LandSpeed Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    1
    i had to have the front end off on my a4 and now the auto adjust headlight is now not working, im hoping it just needs resetting, would this be a vagcom job ?
    #1
  2. boulevard
    Offline

    boulevard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know when my front end got replaced through an accident, it had to goto a dealer for this to be done. I assume it was for the vagcom at the dealer to adjust the lights.
    #2
  3. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    29
    the sensor is on the passenger side lower wish bone, make sure its still connected,
    #3
  4. LandSpeed
    Offline

    LandSpeed Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    1
    ive just had a look Turkster and it seems to be connected ok
    #4
  5. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    29
    plug it in then mate, the sensors down there do tend to stuff up from time to time, they take all the knocks and get sprayed with all the **** on the road, they are easy to change if it is buggered mate,
    #5
  6. LandSpeed
    Offline

    LandSpeed Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    1
    right, ive had the fault cleared with VCDS, it was coming up with issues with the motors, but like i say, they have all been cleared. The Auto Adjust symbol is now not showing on my dash :o.k:

    BUT

    if i start my car then turn my lights on, they do not do their little self test at the start (lower then raise)

    but if i turn the engine off and still keep my lights on, then restart the car they do lower then raise. (ie starting the engine with my lights already on)
    (i hope i have explained that well enough)

    what is the sequence with everyone else who has Factory Fit Xenons.
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2011
    #6
  7. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    29
    my lights auto adjust with the light on or off when i start the car,
    #7
  8. LandSpeed
    Offline

    LandSpeed Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    1
    what about when the car is already started and you then turn your lights on......do they auto adjust then ?
    #8
  9. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    29
    no, because they would have already auto adjusted when i started the engine . best thing to do, stand in front of your car, get some one to start the engine with the lights off, and watch, they should do the magic up and down trick regardless of on or off lights, mine do.
    #9
  10. LandSpeed
    Offline

    LandSpeed Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    1
    Top man Turkster, just been outside and tested this and they auto adjusted with the lights off.

    i always thought they auto adjusted only when the lights are turned on......but yet again i was wrong

    Thanks fella
    #10
  11. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,888
    Likes Received:
    475
    You'll sleep well tonight now ;)
    #11
  12. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    29
    Glad to be of any help fella, I be sleeping well in a few hours too, gonna fire up the PS3 for its nightly bashing!
    #12
  13. LandSpeed
    Offline

    LandSpeed Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    1
    i thought i was going mad, but obviously when i started the engine and then immediatly turn my lights on, the headlights were still going through the auto level procedure and not going through the operation because i had switched them on !!!

    if you know waht i mean lol
    #13

Share This Page