1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Would the RNS 510 fit the A3?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by gynads, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. gynads
    Offline

    gynads Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    2
    As above guys, would it fit? looks the same seems cheaper and has the 30gb harddrive and touch screen etc.
    #1
  2. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    #2
  3. WKDLAD
    Offline

    WKDLAD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seems you can pick one up fot about £400-£500 too! Would be nice if it was just a plug n play hey.
    #3
  4. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    I found another site where guys were saying the RNS-E was better than the 510 on other functions :shrug:

    I think the 2010 RNS-E is a better option.
    #4
  5. gynads
    Offline

    gynads Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    2
    But the price is that much higher for a 2010 RNS-E
    #5
  6. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Well yeah, so you just have to decide how much you want it!
    #6
  7. gynads
    Offline

    gynads Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    2
    So as per the original question, I need to know if it's compatible or not.
    #7
  8. gynads
    Offline

    gynads Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    2
    From Reading that thread on the link, it seems the RNSE's only advantages are..... Quick mute, and slighlty quicker (in his opinion) . I see th other adavantages as, built in Bluetooth, touchscreen, hard-drive, HD radio. Video camera in etc
    #8
  9. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Well the link says probably not, that's why I posted it.
    #9
  10. beanoir
    Offline

    beanoir Sharpest Tongue in the West

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,174
    Likes Received:
    19

    Whats the 2010 RNS-E got over the last one then Staz? I didn't spec it on my new car, but wonderng now if I should have it's much better.
    #10
  11. kkp0897
    Offline

    kkp0897 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    8
    Maybe you shoud've spec'd it... open market they appear to be relatively rare even though some say they are easy to source. Personally I would've gone factory fit for :

    (1) Good Radio Reception
    (2) TV Tuner
    (3) Graphical PDC (Parking Display Control)

    1 & 2 can be resolved with workarounds in my opinion (DVB\DAB) but 3 cannot be supported on units < 2010.

    There are other benefits but I have listed the ones important to me. Other benefits include hi-res screen, large SD card capabilities, faster CPU for quicker maps.

    hindsight a wonderful thing... :keule: but one thing for sure, i hope you don't fall victim to the cr@p radio reception problem so many are suffering on here after a retro fit... me being one of them!!
    #11
  12. andykn
    Offline

    andykn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    #12
  13. andykn
    Offline

    andykn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    A slightly more definite view that it wouldn't work:

    Rns-e / Rns 510 - Audi Forum

    "VW and Audi CAN is different, therefore VW devices will not work properly in an Audi."
    #13
  14. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    I would doubt that its that black & white, i thought canbus was a set standard. The golf & A3 share several components like the gateway network card for example too. Thats said, I doubt it would work properly too though NHN & I did discuss it once.
    #14
  15. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    I see no reason why the CAN-bus would be different, it's a standard as Khufu says. A compatibility issue may arise if the 510 sends messages on the bus that cannot be read but the Audi nodes, that makes more sense to me as to why it wouldn't work. Even then it wouldn't be impossible to do but it's a lot of work.
    #15
  16. andykn
    Offline

    andykn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Blaupunkt do a generic CAN BUS adapter (7 607 500 501 001) (for vehicles without steering wheel remote controls) that has 4 DIP switches. The switch settings are common between Audi and Skoda but VW are slightly different.

    Unfortunately I've just spent quite a bit trying to get my Blaupunkt DAB 54 fitted in my A3 otherwise I'd be tempted to give it a try.
    #16
  17. Pii
    Offline

    Pii Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does the 510 even slot into the A3 doubledin slot? I don't think it is so you'd also need to factor in a facia mod of some sort.
    #17
  18. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    I think that'd be the least of the problems lol
    #18
  19. Pii
    Offline

    Pii Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    1
    lol - the main selling point (to me) of RNSE is that it just looks like it fits place, making the interiror seem that little more perfect. If you need to mod a facia to then it would take away that OEM feel. In which case I'd say go for an aftermarket unit!
    #19
  20. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Don't forget it also has ...

    Faster processor
    Higher res screen
    AMI integration
    #20
  21. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1

    You need to look at this then. Kufatec are now selling antenna retrofit kits for Concert II+ to RNSe

    KUFATEC GmbH - Radio Antennensystem Audi A3 8P
    #21
  22. andykn
    Offline

    andykn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    You then come back to my original problem that you can't get aftermarket units with DAB and Bluetooth built in. Let alone Navigation.
    #22
  23. Pii
    Offline

    Pii Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ah the dreaded lack of DAB head unit...

    Not sure if it's possible but maybe you attach a DAB as an AUX input. Not ideal i know.
    #23
  24. andykn
    Offline

    andykn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I could have found one I could operate like a CD changer, but I didn't want a windscreen stick on unit as reception isn't as good.
    #24
  25. Pii
    Offline

    Pii Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah I would like bits hanging from windscreens.

    I don't know much about DAB radios. Are there no DAB that tuck inside glove box and you can wire into aftermarket ? I
    #25
  26. andykn
    Offline

    andykn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    All I could find was a JVC unit that I think has to go with a compatible JVC head unit. As I already have a Blaupunkt DAB headunit it seemed easier just to add Bluetooth to that.
    #26
  27. Anders3404
    Offline

    Anders3404 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    #27
  28. andykn
    Offline

    andykn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    No DAB, I think it uses Freeview Digital radio (DVB-T), more or less the same radio stations but over Freeview, which isn't designed to be received by moving vehicles, unlike DAB which is.
    #28

Share This Page