1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Worthy Purchase? Cruise control

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by BlackQuat, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. BlackQuat

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    47
    Oddly, mine weren't torx!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    My dad has picked up one today so will give that a whirl
     
  4. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Ok so got those off now i have the right screwdriver Torx 8 modified halfords jobby.

    Now got stumped by the spline nut holding the steering wheel on! never seen one like that before as al my other cars had some sort of bolt on it which you used a socket set on.

    So back to square one and my Dad is gonna go shopping for a spline nut tool so is it either an 8mm or a 10mm?? and where can you get one as i didnt see anything in halfrauds?
     
  5. 1wheelonly

    1wheelonly cabriolet
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    9
    #44 1wheelonly, Apr 19, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2010
  6. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Cheers bud will get one today and then try number 3 :)
     
  7. Chris79

    Chris79 On my 3rd A4! RS4 next???

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine needed a M12 spline tool - had to order it! A funny looking almost Torx thing but straight splines not curved like a Torx. Maybe the T55 would give a good enough interfearance fit unless its tight.

    Link to tool

    Chris
     
  8. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Cheers now i have a choice. Will see what i can pick up
     
  9. 1wheelonly

    1wheelonly cabriolet
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    9
    there more or less the same tool, just one has more teeth than the other.
     
  10. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    HELP!

    Right done the physical work and put it back together so now i need to do the coding!!

    I have fitted a new SWCM and CC and DIS and now have the ABS error, i went into the brake coding option which currently says 00000 and i have no real idea what i should be putting in there, i can see some sort of key that pops up but cant work out what i want.

    If anyone can help i would greatly appreciate it
     
  11. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Right been trying to work it out on my own but got really confused!

    I know i have to recode the SWCM but cant work it out whatsoever so now the car just flashes brakes at me and beeps loads! is it safe to drive like this as i need to get to work and cant take it all apart now!
     
  12. Chris79

    Chris79 On my 3rd A4! RS4 next???

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do a search on the tyresmoke forum, loads of useful info about coding.

    I'll dig out the bookmarks I have tonight and post up.

    Chris
     
  13. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    I have been reading the tyresmoke thread but it does not explain exactly what to do as i am basically looking at this for the first time.

    I understand i have to login to the SWCM and then code it but have no real idea on how to go about this. from the key it displays i think i have worked out the right login code of 09557 and then the code of 04257 but not sure exactly of the right process to get the swcm to keep the coding as it keeps telling me when i scan for fault codes that its not right
     
  14. scott b

    scott b Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    3
    after reading this, im glad ive chosen the easy option and booked the car in for cruise control to be fitted
     
  15. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Cheers 1wheel for the telephone support (Top Bloke :) )

    Looks like i may of screwed up when putting it back together so as daylight was fading and my laptop was on about 5 mins of power i have given up for today and will try again 2moro (with some help) to rectify what went wrong.

    Getting quite good and dismantaling the bits aroung the steering wheel so hopefully will get it sorted.

    Will post back with my success or failure results.
     
  16. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Been doing a bit of sly research whilst at work and have been trawling the ross tech wiki and think that i have discovered that i need to recode the SWCM with the cars VIN number before i recode it. i think this is done by using adaption channel 081 and code 00111. I then go into 03 to recode the SWCM. As my steering wheel angle sensor isnt picking up movement at the mo i think i have not put it back together right either so will take it apart first and make sure its all right.

    Am off work early for a hospital appointment so will get on it after that.
     
  17. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Ok had a quick look before i shoot off for my appointment and as far as i can see it all looks as it should.
    What i cant work out though is how to code the SWCM with my VIN as i believe this has to be done before you can code it to get rid off the ABS fault etc.
     
  18. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Where is the steering angle sensor G85?? as it does not seem to be working
     
  19. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Okey Doke had a few good moments in the last couple of hours and have managed to 1. get the ABS module to take a code and keep it so i have managed to get the dashboard lights (ABS, Traction Control and Brakes) to dissapear and stay gone. I have also just managed to get the DIS to work and have grounded pin 1 to stop the low level washer warning on the dash.

    So my last hurdle to overcome is getting the Cruise Control to work which i think has something to do with coding the SWCM with my VIN cos everytime i use VAGcom and go into 16 - Steering Wheel and look at the fault codes i see 01794 - Control module - incorrect chassis (VIN) number 35 - 00 - - if i clear the fault i just comes right back.

    So i am assuming you have to tell the SWCM somehow to get your VIN and once it has done that it will let me activate Cruise but i am a bit in the dark as how to do that.
     
  20. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi Avant Owner Group Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,005
    Likes Received:
    528
    Fertility test?

    :tapedshut:
     
  21. BlackQuat

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    47
    I didn't have to code my vin into anything.
    Sounds abit odd bob, wish i knew abit more to help out.
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. 1wheelonly

    1wheelonly cabriolet
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    9
  24. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    I did try the process from that wiki page but i just said wait in the little box for ages so i guessed it had crashed so exited the module so will try again and leave it longer and see what happens.
     
  25. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Tried again but still no joy i went into 09 central electrics went into 10 adaption and then 081 it tells you to relearn put in code 46992 and then it tells you to wait after that dissapears you can save and close cotroller but when i go into 16 steering wheel i still have the same fault code as before : 01794 - Control module - incorrect chassis (VIN) number 35 - 00 - -

    Any other ideas chaps?? i mean Cruise isnt that important to me but as i have gone to the bother of fitting it i would like to get it working if poss.
     
  26. BlackQuat

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    47
    If you've done everything as is in that how2. The only thing left is the clutch switch. Disconnect it!
     
  27. BlackQuat

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    47
    As you said, yours is an auto. So thats knackered.
     
  28. 1wheelonly

    1wheelonly cabriolet
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    9
  29. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,140
    Likes Received:
    1,427
  30. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Yeah i have activated cruise in the engine setting which i have am pretty sure is now active as if i do a scan it tells me it cant talk to Cruise Control so its looking for it but as the module isnt coded it cant find it.

    This is the coding guide i have been following (http://sites.google.com/site/ade2ade/a4-cruise-coding) and so far its been pretty spot on now i understand VAGcom a litle better.

    Will give it another go tonight and try to activate it using 16 instead of 9 as that does make some logical sense.

    Oh and my RNSE flags up an error too as i still cant work out how to get it to upgrade its firmware
     
    #68 vrbob, Apr 23, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2010
  31. 1wheelonly

    1wheelonly cabriolet
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    9
    what firmware is it running at the moment rob
     
  32. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Its not its been hacked and has the software version --X
     
  33. 1wheelonly

    1wheelonly cabriolet
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    9
    that means its an exchange unit, what disc do you have to put in to it and upgrade it
     
  34. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    i have an original 2008 and a copy of 2009. The RNSE currently has the 2009 disc in it al the time but it never seems to try and upgrade the software.
     
  35. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,140
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    You need to force the unit into downgrade mode with an adaption in rns adaption channel 97 set to a 1, then insert a disc, should then update as such.
     
  36. BlackQuat

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    47
    2008 and 2009 are the same sw version iirc!
     
  37. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Cool will give that a whirl too tonight when i try to recode the SWCM
     
  38. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Ok guys had some success defo got the RNSE to update the firmware and am now running SW version 650.

    Secondly have managed to get the SWCM to learn my VIN so top work NHN on the shout of doing it via channel 16 and entering code 00111 as i now get no fault codes. So after that i went into 01 engine then login 11 and entered the code 11463 which supposedly activates Cruise (have done this before but not since getting the SWCM to accept my VIN) so went for a drive and the CC arm does not do anything (only went round the block upto about 40mph). Came back scanned for faults and didnt get any in the steering module etc so dont understand why the CC wont work, do you have to be above a certain speed or in a certain gear for it to work??
     
  39. BlackQuat

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    47
    Shouldn't it be 00141?
     
  40. BlackQuat

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    47
    0?xxx: Steering Wheel
    • 0 = Standard (without Multifunction)
    • 1 = 3-Spoke Steering Wheel (Sport Steering Wheel)
    • 2 = Multifunction Steering Wheel with Radio Control
    • 3 = Multifunction Steering Wheel with Radio/Telephone Control
    • 4 = Multifunction Steering Wheel with Radio/Telephone/Voice Control
    • 5 = Multifunction Steering Wheel with Radio/Voice Control
    0x?xx: Options
    • +1 = Tiptronic
    0xx?x: Board Computer & Cruise Control
    • 0 = Board Computer & Cruise Control not installed
    • 1 = Board Computer installed
    • 2 = Cruise Control installed
    • 4 = Board Computer & Cruise Control installed
    0xxx?: Rear Wiper (Chassis)
    • 1 = Rear Wiper not installed (Sedan/Cabriolet)
    • 2 = Rear Wiper installed (Avant)

    If you have 00111, thats saying you only have board computer installed. Not cruise control.
     
  41. 1wheelonly

    1wheelonly cabriolet
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    9
    agreed ^^^^^^^^^^^^^
     
  42. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Its ok guys i am just an idiot and didnt spot the button on the end of the cruise stalk that actually makes it work:icon_thumright:

    So now everything is working so i have both DIS and Cruise working so thanks guys (special thanks to 1wheel for his telephone support role) for your efforts in keeping me from ripping my hair out or paying somebody else to sort it for me.

    when coding 16 the code i used 00142 as i have the avant with rear wiper. you use the 00111 code in 10 the adaption section when you goto channel 081 as this makes the SWCM learn the cars VIN. The problem i had is that i was doing this under 09 central electrics and it just wouldnt learn the VIN so thanks again NHN for spotting that mistake and pointing me in the right direction.

    Now i have done my retrofit is there much else worth tweaking with VAGcom now i have it and am feeling much better about the software interface.
     

Share This Page