1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Worth adding an EBC?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Oranoco, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. Oranoco

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,529
    Likes Received:
    284
    Basically my brother has offered me his aftermarket EBC from his project car at a very attractive price. Is it worth grabbing for my old tank?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Oranoco

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,529
    Likes Received:
    284
    Anybody?
     
  4. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    What are you trying to achieve with it?

    If you adjust the boost much outwith the stock parameters you'll just cause the ECU to cut the fuel and drop into limp mode.
     
  5. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    8
    whats an ebc?
     
  6. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    Electronic Boost Controller
     
  7. Oranoco

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,529
    Likes Received:
    284
    Just thought it may give me better control of the boost and it's delivery, maybe even squeeze a couple more psi of boost from it as it's just too limp with 12psi :( Looking at getting the Quattro map remap written to a FWD chip to eek a bit more from the old fun bus
     
  8. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    Isnt your car the early ECU type? I doubt the later flash would be compatible if so.

    I have a 557B box from an A6 that might take the later rom, but you'd need to change to the later harness too.
     
  9. Oranoco

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,529
    Likes Received:
    284
    When I had it chipped it did have to be done the old school way by soldering a chip into the ECU.
     
  10. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    Yeh, but the TQS uses the later style of ECU. Two big plugs and a slim rounded case.

    Your car (i think) has the earlier ECU with the big square case and 5 seperate plugs.

    Your not going to be able to put the later chip into the earlier box.
     
  11. Oranoco

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,529
    Likes Received:
    284
    I was hoping to put the newer map onto the older chip. Could really do with a proper look inside both but saddly that won't be easy to achieve.

    Was going to swipe the ECU off the Quattro breaker but saddly that all fell through :(
     
  12. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    The chips are defo different. The chip used on the earlier ECU is rare and hard to get hold of now.
     

Share This Page