1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WORN TURBO

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by jamie226bhp, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    Been diagnosed with a worn turbo due to it not holding more bost than about 1 bar even though the remap should take it to 1.4 - 1.5, they checked the actuator and for boost leaks and this was all ok, so what's the best place to get a hybrid ko3 for my 1.8 qts and what sort of prices am i looking at,i'll need to source another ko3 to do it to as i need the car every day and i can then just swap the turbo one weekend,
    #1
  2. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    would a turbo off a BEX engine code fit as i think this may be a cheaper option if i can source a good one and get it checked
    #2
  3. Blue_Thunder
    Offline

    Blue_Thunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    9
    What the hell is worn on it to only produce 2/3rds boost? Usually it's only the seals and bearings that wear, but they would result in either smoke or noise as the blades hit the casing.
    #3
  4. ian52
    Offline

    ian52 2000 a4 1.8tqs-yellow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    1
    A k03 at 1.5 bar will be screaming it's nuts off. That will be well past it's efficient working range will it not? I can't see anything that wold wear on a turbo to stop it producing boost unless the blades were falling off.
    #4
  5. macca
    Offline

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    the wastegate internally falls apart which is a problem i had. basically it then can't close properly and hold boost.
    #5
  6. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    surely you could diagnose that by whipping the CAT off?
    possible but I would want to see the evidence before shelling out for a new turbo.

    did it hold 1.5 before?
    #6
  7. ian52
    Offline

    ian52 2000 a4 1.8tqs-yellow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just get the exhaust housing from a dead turbo and swap it over.
    #7
  8. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,517
    Likes Received:
    300
    Our wastegate is currently broken, and it makes no boost at all. it certainly wouldnt be holding a bar with a broken wastegate.

    The actuator might be weak, or the wastegate seat might be a bit crappy causing a bad seal. You might also have a leaking dump valve if its old or not upgraded to TT spec or better, or some other boost leak. A hose clip that holds 12psi might not like holding 20...

    A BEX turbo will fit, and is a bit larger than your existing one, its more akin to a k04-015.

    18psi is about the max you really want to push thru a k03, 20psi is getting a bit dodgy imo, and with the larger BEX turbo, you'll make more power with the same boost.
    #8
  9. Blue_Thunder
    Offline

    Blue_Thunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    9
    Have you checked the vac lines going from the N75 to the actuator?
    #9
  10. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,517
    Likes Received:
    300
    if the vac lines were split the actuator would surely just stay closed and it would massively overboost?
    #10
  11. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    all been checked by the garage,checked for boost leaks actuator not at fault as he used a pressure tester thing to check, excuse the lack of correct terminology, got an uprated 710n valve fitted and an n75j, so am just getting prices on getting a hybrid one which will get the most out of the superchip without running it at the end of it's cappabilities, not sure what else on the turbo itself would cause it not to hold the boost, a crack maybe!
    doesn't smoke or rattle
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2010
    #11
  12. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    feel like one of those scroll hybrids but i need to keep the car on the road
    #12
  13. Drizz
    Offline

    Drizz Project Plush

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0

    What car has the BEX?
    #13
  14. Drizz
    Offline

    Drizz Project Plush

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0

    What car has the BEX?
    #14
  15. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    i think its the b6 a4 190 bhp version
    #15
  16. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    no as the n75j use to cause boost spikes which the car didn't like, was hoping the chip would cure this but it's just highlighted where the
    problem is
    #16
  17. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a Scroll Products SP51R (around 8K miles on it) for sale if you want it?.. It's pretty much ready to be parceled up. PM me if you're interested mate.

    As others have said I'd double check the diagnosis first though as it sounds a bit odd to me? Who provides a K03 map to boost at 1.5bar?.. That's a lot of boost for the little K03 to handle!
    #17
  18. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    it's a superchip so reputable company and it's the ko3s tubo on the 180bhp version
    #18
  19. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    They all use the same K03 turbo (150 & 180HP) we've discovered so they're working the nuts off of that. I didn't know Superchips did custom maps?!
    #19
  20. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    not custom but the map makes it boost to 1.4 bar, which i thought was high but like i say i trusted the name and the place doing it, wanted a hybrid anyway so this gets me off with it as it's not me buying one but the garage saying we need to replace :icon_thumright:
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2010
    #20
  21. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ha ha I take it you've got a wife/girlfriend then lol.

    I didn't know Superchips offered anything other than the generic +30HP / + 50HP maps for our cars.
    #21
  22. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    it must be one of those,as it was only meant to take it to 210 bhp but like you say the boost seems high
    #22
  23. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    I would've thought that'd be about 1.1bar to be honest mate.
    #23
  24. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    yep just spoke to him and he tweaked the chip for me, all for £300
    #24
  25. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,517
    Likes Received:
    300
    Replace the turbo by all means, but seriously, dont try to run 1.4bar, unless you want to be replacing them every couple months.

    The only B5's with the K03S are the very late DBW cars, and they're all 150hp engines. All audi did with the AJL was up the boost from 8psi to 12psi. If you want 210hp then you should only need around 1.1-1.2bar. The turbo will be getting very inefficent, and you can even find that it will make more power at 1.2bar than it will at 1.4, as its working more efficiently.
    #25
  26. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,517
    Likes Received:
    300
    Drizz: Ye the BEX is the 190hp B6 engine. It has a K03-073 turbo, which is slightly larger than the k03-029 (K03S) thats fitted to the rest of the B6 range, which in turn is larger than the K03-005 thats fitted to most B5's including the AJL and AEB.
    #26
  27. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    but a hybrid one should be ok at the 1.3 or 1.4 bar as long as that's the optimum amount of boost and built for it,with fmic etc, just waiting to get a price on a new hybrid or get the one lee offered
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2010
    #27
  28. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,517
    Likes Received:
    300
    Any K03 will be running at stupid RPM to produce 1.4bar, and stupid RPM will reduce the life of the CHRA bearings and shaft etc quite drastically.

    A quick squint at the compressor map will show you what i mean.
    #28
  29. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    what are the ko4's and the hybrid ko3's meant to run
    #29
  30. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,578
    Likes Received:
    270
    The hybrid i use is recomended to run a max of 22PSI IIRC as the amount of air for a given pressure is more, so it doesnt need to have the life wrung out of it all the time to get decent power.

    I certainly wouldnt want to run a daily driven K03 to that level, the thriottle must be like an on/off switch and the torque curve must spike like a Biatch
    #30
  31. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,517
    Likes Received:
    300
    the same 18-20psi range really.

    The extra power comes from the turbo being larger, not from running more boost.
    #31
  32. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    to use to the ford turbo's that run the 1.5 bar and not the small audi one's. is that 22 psi occasionally peak or can hold 22 psi max
    #32
  33. macca
    Offline

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    check that the wastegate disc in the ehaust housing is still attached properly to the arm, mine wasn't, when wastegate opened the pressure pushed the disc/valve out of the way but then wouldn't always sit home properly, sometimes as standard i'd get 6 psi then next moment i would get aorund 12 psi. this maybe what yours is doing albiet as it is chipped at a higher psi, hence the overboost.
    #33
  34. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    did you just change fix that part or get the turbo refreshed while it was off
    #34
  35. macca
    Offline

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    the turbo went elsewhere on this forum, but i am sure it could have been fixed easily, it was almost like the part was riverted on, the best is to get your turbo off and have a look what is going on, someone like CR Turbos can then recondition or sort it out for you
    #35
  36. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    just done a conversion and 1.4 bar is just over 20 psi,
    #36

Share This Page