1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Worn Steering on S3

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by martin3310, Nov 2, 2004.

  1. martin3310
    Offline

    martin3310 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 2, 2004]
    Hi, when my Audi was serviced last month they noticed slight play in the steering and said it was the rack, I spoke to AmD and they said they have never ever replaced a rack on a golf or S3 and told me it is probrally the tie arms that go onto the rack itself, if any one has had a problem like this before please let me know, Cheers Martin
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. god_thats_quick
    Offline

    god_thats_quick Numptie of the highest order

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 2, 2004]
    Hi Martin,

    I've been having a load of problems with different Audi dealers over creaking, but also do to with the Track (Tie) rods on the steering, these are the bits that connect the steering rack to the wheels (quite important really).

    I was told at my last service that my drivers side track rod was the worst one they has ever seen and non of the mechanics would drive it. also audi have in the service manual to check the track rod ends at ever 20k service to see for play in them, if it is just the ends then it's not that big a deal, in fact even if it's the whole rods then again not a big deal but the cost can be bloody high as you'll need a 4 wheel allignment when they are changed.

    hope that was some help, i'll be getting told the passenger side needs doing tomorrow when it's serviced next...

    ps, the symptoms should be slight juddering when not accellerating over bumps if its bad... or vibrations trough the steering
    #2
  4. imported_AudiAuto
    Online

    imported_AudiAuto Guest

    [Nov 3, 2004]
    yeah i get that in my A3 a bit as well, especially a little 'clunking' sort of feeling in the steering
    #3
  5. martin3310
    Offline

    martin3310 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 7, 2004]
    Hi, job done , my old tie rods were totally worn at only 45000, I fitted the new complete arms yesterday as it was the inner joints that had worn very badly, steering feel is much better now with no nocks or wobble
    #4
  6. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 9, 2004]
    You need the Adobe Acrobat file viewer installed. Its free from Adobe's website.

    BTW, MartinBlackS3, did you need to remove the rack to change the tierods?
    #5
  7. martin3310
    Offline

    martin3310 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 14, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    HTC said:
    You need the Adobe Acrobat file viewer installed. Its free from Adobe's website.

    BTW, MartinBlackS3, did you need to remove the rack to change the tierods?

    [/ QUOTE ]You can change the tierods without removing the rack, it takes about 2 hours tops to do the job
    #6
  8. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    martin black S3 said:
    [ QUOTE ]
    HTC said:
    You need the Adobe Acrobat file viewer installed. Its free from Adobe's website.

    BTW, MartinBlackS3, did you need to remove the rack to change the tierods?

    [/ QUOTE ]You can change the tierods without removing the rack, it takes about 2 hours tops to do the job

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Thats good news. Audi recomend removing the rack, but I got underneath my car and said to myself that it wasn't required. Cheers Martin.
    #7
  9. martin3310
    Offline

    martin3310 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    HTC said:
    [ QUOTE ]
    martin black S3 said:
    [ QUOTE ]
    HTC said:
    You need the Adobe Acrobat file viewer installed. Its free from Adobe's website.

    BTW, MartinBlackS3, did you need to remove the rack to change the tierods?

    [/ QUOTE ]You can change the tierods without removing the rack, it takes about 2 hours tops to do the job

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Thats good news. Audi recomend removing the rack, but I got underneath my car and said to myself that it wasn't required. Cheers Martin.

    [/ QUOTE ]When you do un-screw the tie rods from the rack there is a slot cut into the drivers side rack end where you can put another spaner so you are not twisting the rack internals as you un-screw the tie rods , as I found out this slot is only on the drivers side, so do that one first if you are changing both tie rods and leave the gaitor pulled back so you can still get in with that other spanner to stop the rack internals twisting if you are doing the other side as well, I finnished the drivers side first and then had to cut the clips and pull the gaitor back to gain access to the spanner slot again when I noticed there is no slot on the other side and I was not going to just un-screw the tie rods as they are rather tight.
    #8
  10. god_thats_quick
    Offline

    god_thats_quick Numptie of the highest order

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 16, 2004]
    Sounds easy enough to me, just asking the same old question again, have you had the wheels alligned after replacing the tie rods?
    #9
  11. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 16, 2004]
    Thanks for the info Martin. I've changed Tie rods before on Golfs etc and there was no room at all to get a spanner on the area you mention.

    But after laying under my car for a while (i do this often :)) there is loads more room compared to some of my past cars.

    I'll get round to it in a week or so as I've got to replace a leaking crankshaft oil seal first :-( Nice and easy, but still annoying.
    #10
  12. imported_kris_tdi
    Online

    imported_kris_tdi Guest

    [Nov 16, 2004]
    martin, where you at stortford audi on saturday?
    #11
  13. martin3310
    Offline

    martin3310 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 18, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    kris_tdi said:
    martin, where you at stortford audi on saturday?

    [/ QUOTE ]Sorry it wasn't me, I was fitting a gas fire in London that day.
    #12
  14. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 18, 2004]
    Is there any point in changing the entire rod? By the looks of it on ETKA, the other end that attaches to the rack, is simply screw in, and is non-perishable...

    Cheers

    Rich
    #13
  15. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 18, 2004]
    Yes, often the rods do require changing. Its the same design for most of the VW/Audi range.

    The rod end closest to the rack is a ball joint so it can move with the suspension travel. The ball wears in its housing and causes play, but the whole rod needs to be swapped to do it.

    Perhaps start with the rod ends, but with mine its deffo the inner ball thats worn.
    #14
  16. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 18, 2004]
    Hmm.. ok... ETKA is sh*t at showing THAT then! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif
    #15
  17. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 18, 2004]
    If you look at martin's picture further up it shows the ball I'm talking about.
    #16
  18. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 18, 2004]
    How does the othe ball joint connect to the rack? screw in? hard to make out from teh pics..

    Rich
    #17
  19. god_thats_quick
    Offline

    god_thats_quick Numptie of the highest order

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 18, 2004]
    thanks for the help martin, might try changing the other one soon.

    rich - it just screws into the rack... I have my old one at home, the guy at the audi garage said it's the worst one he's ever seen, and that was at 45k.
    #18
  20. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 18, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    god_thats_quick said:
    rich - it just screws into the rack... I have my old one at home, the guy at the audi garage said it's the worst one he's ever seen, and that was at 45k.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    OK.. Cheers mate!
    #19
  21. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 18, 2004]
    There is a thread on the end of the inner ball joint that screws into the rack. There are flat parts on the rod inner end to get a spanner on to tighten it all up.
    #20
  22. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 18, 2004]
    oops, martin got there first!
    #21
  23. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 18, 2004]
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #22
  24. martin3310
    Offline

    martin3310 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 21, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    HTC said:
    They are even cheaper from GSF. About £35.

    [/ QUOTE ]I would like to see one then!! as I know the manager of my local GSF car parts and they don't do the tie-rods for the S3, trust me I tried them first before the main dealer
    #23

Share This Page