1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

wont connect

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by mainer, Aug 17, 2006.

  1. mainer
    Offline

    mainer Mountain biker

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got 311.2n and cant get it to connect to my car. It seems to want to use com port 3, and says its connected but when I go to "auto-scan" it tells me it's not connected. I think it may be connecting to my onboard modem, But how do I change this? I cant even activate it till it connects to the car. I got my cable on Ebay.

    Any other Ideas?


    Thanks COoper
    #1
  2. dummi
    Offline

    dummi smoking a6

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    i had that problem with an aftermarket stereo with k-lines , the harness adapter was for pre-'97 but i needed post-'97 which takes into account these lines on '97 and later models. unless yours is a canbus like on 2003 a3's then you need the canbus cable check ross-tech.com
    #2
  3. bearthebruce
    Offline

    bearthebruce Ross-Tech, LLC

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    17
    There are postings about this on many forums. Basically, the aftermarket cables have problems communicating unless you get into the setup of the computer to deal with the COM ports. Sorry but that is as far as I go on this.

    Might I suggest you go back to the guy who sold the cable and see if they will give you some support?

    -Bruce-
    Ross-Tech,LLC
    bruce@Ross-Tech.com
    #3
  4. bearthebruce
    Offline

    bearthebruce Ross-Tech, LLC

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    17
    PS: In fact, this is discussed in another thread right here. Please search and read that thread.

    B
    #4
  5. mainer
    Offline

    mainer Mountain biker

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did surch, but didn't find anything like my problem. Many that were kind of like it, but nothing with my issues.

    I did get it to connect to the car. Thanks for the help

    Cooper
    #5
  6. bearthebruce
    Offline

    bearthebruce Ross-Tech, LLC

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    17
    You are saying that this thread has nothing in it that is similar to help?
    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?t=26494

    I mean this text doesn't address your problem with COM port 3?

    Well, as I said, contact your supplier for some help. If they can't help and these threads do not help, I'm not sure where to send you.

    Best,
    #6

Share This Page