1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wiring loom swap..

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Lee Goodall, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 18, 2009]
    I will be swapping the wiring loom in my 1996 A4 (AEB engine) to the newer type (97>) loom to take a newer ECU.

    Will there be any compatibility issues with sensors etc.. AFAIK the lambda probe is slightly different and will throw a fault code but is there anything else to expect?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Sep 18, 2009]
    Nope should be ok, you 'may' have a prob with the MAF, but thats not 100% ad the early (expensive) MAF covers the early models so should actually be ok
    #2
  4. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 18, 2009]
    That's ok then.. I have two older type mafs and a newer one in my Audi warehouse (garage) lol.

    I know the Lambdas are different as I ordered one for mine and it turned out the part changed for 97> cars... I have one spare now anyway!

    Got Audis/parts all over the place at the minute ha.
    #3
  5. Geeman
    Offline

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Sep 18, 2009]
    Yeah, I had a problem with my MAF when I spliced in an older loom... you need to keep your existing MAF and the connector for it... the other one 'might' not be compatible.

    But, if you're putting in a new ECU, then you should need to use a newer MAF too... I would have thought.
    #4
  6. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 18, 2009]
    Yeah AFAIK the newer ECU, loom and newer MAF should just pretty much plug and play.
    #5
  7. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 18, 2009]
    ..wasn't there a difference between the CTS on the earlier and later cars?
    #6
  8. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Sep 18, 2009]
    Have you got the blue/green 4 pin one on yours?

    If so you are good to go. Some early ones had a seperate sender for the air con, grey IIRC
    #7
  9. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 18, 2009]
    Yeah it's the four pin one :icon_thumright:
    #8
  10. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Sep 18, 2009]
    I think you should find the MAF,the N80,the ICM, the coils,injectors etc the connectors are all the same for those too from memory. You need to move closer,lol
    #9
  11. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 18, 2009]
    Should be fine then.. cheers.

    The journey from yours to the Mids is lovely though. Maybe you should do it more often lol
    #10
  12. sam80quattro
    Offline

    sam80quattro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 18, 2009]
    exactly what i was looking to do... let us know how it goes :D
    #11
  13. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Sep 18, 2009]
    Once a few things are sorted, i might just do that.....
    #12
  14. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 20, 2009]
    :icon_thumright:
    #13
  15. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Sep 20, 2009]
    :nyah:
    #14
  16. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Sep 20, 2009]
    You sorted out some fuel injectors yet for the T28?

    I've been looking at some cheap OE bosch injectors that will flow 475cc/min at 3 bar and should fit the AEB rail (they're a direct swap for Bosch "fatbody" EV1's in a different engine)... Think they'll do about 500-510cc/min at 4 bar, and you can get a full set, brand new, for about 80-100quid.

    You'll likely also need a new fuel pump, i doubt the standard one will be man enough to flow 475cc/min at 5-6 bar...
    #15
  17. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 21, 2009]
    Worth considering then.

    I was going for 415 or 440CC possibly Genesis or Delphi with the 4 bar FPR. A lot of the bigger Bosch injectors that I've seen have a narrow spray pattern.. which is obviously not good for multi-valve heads.
    #16
  18. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Sep 21, 2009]
    These are standard fit on a Vauxhall Astra VXR, and people use them as a direct replacement for the injectors on the C20LET engine, which uses the same Bosch EV1's as the AEB does.

    http://shop.ebay.co.uk/i.html?_nkw=VXR Injectors&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=

    Few on there, a couple of them brand new, and one with a 99p start.

    Mate of mine has a set, so i can find out from him the bosch part number if you want to look up any more tech specs of them?
    #17
  19. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 21, 2009]
    Yeah that'd be brilliant cheers mate :thumbsup:
    #18

Share This Page