1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

wiring head unit to standard sub and amp

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by joe_echo, Sep 25, 2013.

  1. joe_echo
    Offline

    joe_echo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 25, 2013]
    I've just got a new head unit. After fitting it The rear speakers don't work and neither does the sub. Is therea way to wire them to the new hu.

    I knowi might get told ditch the amp and sub and get a better one but money is tight so I can't afford it right now.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 25, 2013]
    Sounds like you havnt connected the amp feed wire to enable it for rears, go & check your wiring.
    #2
  4. joe_echo
    Offline

    joe_echo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 25, 2013]
    Which one is the amp wire? Sorry I've never done this before
    #3
  5. JohnE
    Offline

    JohnE Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Sep 25, 2013]
    You don't (unless I missed it) say what year the car is, but the best clue is on the top of the factory head unit -there's usually a sticker on there that shows each socket on the back and what the pin outs are. If yours is 2003 - about 2006/7 it'll have two 8 way ISO connectors - one is for power and earth, the other's to the front speakers. There's a third mini-ISO connector (longer and narrower with more pins - that has the connections for the amp. You need to wire the pre-outs from your new head unit into there - there's a range of adapter looms available or you can make your own if you're handy of course.
    #4
  6. joe_echo
    Offline

    joe_echo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 26, 2013]
    oops sorry its the 2000 model. I have two iso cables, a red connector with only one wire in and a collection of small connectors all joined together. I will have a look at the onld one tonight and also post some pictures up.
    #5
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 26, 2013]
    That's an 8L not 8P so wrong section, although wiring is close to the same.
    #6
  8. joe_echo
    Offline

    joe_echo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 26, 2013]
    any chance one of the mods can move this to the 8l section. I must have clicked 8p by mistake.
    #7
  9. fanta
    Offline

    fanta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Sep 26, 2013]
    #8

Share This Page