1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wipers stopping half way, HELP !

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by guysy, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. guysy
    Offline

    guysy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    My mate is having trouble with his 2004 3.2 Quattro,

    The wipers sometimes stop half way on the screen, He has bought a replacement 2nd hand motor and this hasnt helped, Sometimes the motor makes a slight sounds (i dont know what this sounds like)

    Can anyone help please? Faulty relay? if so where can i find it?

    Thanks !
    #1
  2. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    Was it just the motor he changed? The early wipers had a problem but I'm sure that its the linkage seizing that was causing the problems. That and people fitting after market xenon lights damaging the wipe control module.
    #2
  3. guysy
    Offline

    guysy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers for the reply, I dont know if the car has had HIDS previously, Any way of telling? Which loom would be butchered, Nearest to the lights i guess?

    Also the motor is different to the linkage ? Stupid question really but just checking, If it was my car id be out there looking for myself but he wants some online help too, Where can i check?

    Thanks.
    #3
  4. guysy
    Offline

    guysy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    He saids hes checked the linkerage and its clean and hes oiled it, Hes asking me if theres a relay he can check/replace and where is it please?
    #4
  5. guysy
    Offline

    guysy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any more help please?
    #5
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Has he checked the loom for voltage for a start, checked fuses, possibly fuse 31 under hood as relay is shown for the washer system, not for the wiper itself.
    #6
  7. guysy
    Offline

    guysy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fuse is fine, Dont have any means of tesling the loom for voltage readings,

    Also read it could be something to do with the bonnet catch? How does this effect the wipers? His catch is faulty somehow, cant remember how...

    Any help?
    #7
  8. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    The wipers won't work if the bonnet catch switch is faulty. This is a safeguard to stop the wipers working if the bonnet is open.

    Sounds like the wipers go into 'service mode' which is designed for changing blades.

    May be a new bonnet catch/switch might be required.
    #8
  9. lincoln_dj
    Offline

    lincoln_dj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    3
    he isn't catching the wiper stalk with his hand somehow after the keys have been taken out?

    also, the "slight sound" doesnt happen when the keys are taken out too does it? coz that's normal.
    #9
  10. guysy
    Offline

    guysy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah i see yeah, Could well be that, anyway to override that just to test?

    Nah i dont think so, Its happening all the time,

    I think the sound he means maybe coming from the motor? or the mechanism?

    He saids hes cleaned and greased the linage and it moves freely, Just stopping half way once in a while.

    I am also thinking service mode, is being triggered, anyway to stop this? apart from a new catch?
    #10
  11. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    You can't !

    If it is the catch or switch it will require a new one. The switch tells the computer that the bonnet is closed and then the computer tells the wipers that they can work !

    Get the car scanned for faults to really find out.
    #11
  12. guysy
    Offline

    guysy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, He needs to get it scanned really,

    Hes bought another catch, ill see how that goes,

    Thanks for all the help.
    #12

Share This Page