1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wiper Stalk for DIS?

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Fast3000, Mar 17, 2009.

  1. Fast3000

    Fast3000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Chaps. My first post!

    I am new owner of a B7 2.0T. It doesnt have the stalk that lets you change the display on the DIS.

    If I buy a wiper stalk with the additional buttons - easy it a plug n play job? Will I be able to display MPG?

    Many thanks - also will search through as im sure its been discussed before.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, you'll need access to VAG-COM to code it. Have a good search, there a few threads with all the relevant part numbers etc.
     
  4. g60jet

    g60jet Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    you'll also need to earth off one of the pins on the back of the instrument cluster otherwise you'll have the washer bottle fluid level light on all the time. Or buy the sensor and wire it in.
     
  5. auroan

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    5
    erm sorry but has it had dis retro fitted ? If not you'll need a new dash pod as well to get what your after surely?
     
  6. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    On a B7 you dont need a new dash pod, just the new wiper stalk.
     
  7. auroan

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    5
    but if you don't have full dis how do get the xtra functions ?
     
  8. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    B7's all have the same size full height display. Changing the wiper stalk and recoding with VAG-COM enables the extra functions to be displayed (MPG, time, trip distance etc) and cycled through using the extra buttons on the new wiper stalk.
     
  9. auroan

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    5
    Are you sure ...... my old 06 sline 2.0T only had the half height display.
     
  10. jwhat

    jwhat Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    2
    Are you sure? My 05 Sline has full height dsiplay, although it is only a red one and I added the trip computer and wiper stalk. Did you have an aftermarket hu perhaps, because it shows the radio station on the top of my screen and im pretty sure you can turn it off if you wanted by holding something?!
     
  11. auroan

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thats full DIS. DIS was an option on most early Sline models.
     
  12. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Never say never I guess but I've just never seen a B7 with a half height display. My Dad has a 55 plate S-line Avant that never had the DIS, we added the wiper stalk and it now has all the DIS functions.
     
  13. jwhat

    jwhat Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah I've never seen any either or any b6's without it! I always though the basic dis was red with radio up top, temp in the middle and miles to empty on the bottom. then you could upgrade to full red dis( which i have now and give mpg etc) and then full colour dis after that?
     
  14. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    I agree. There may well be a B7 without a full height display but I haven't yet seen one. Be good to see a pic of one though........
     
  15. auroan

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trying to dig my pics out.
     

Share This Page