1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Vista... what a crock

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Caesium, Jun 18, 2007.

  1. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    we have just bought some new machines for our office and guess what, they come with Vista on them.
    We were assured that "the downgrade to xp pro is easy and free"
    Liars! its not easy or free, you have to obtain another copy of xp (which = buy one) and then ring microsoft for an activation key which you can only get if you haven't registered your copy of Vista, and ours came pre-registered!

    We tried to buy another machine with XP pro from our supplier and they said that machines with over 160gb drives all come with Vista on them now, Joy.
    #1
  2. ScoobyA4
    Offline

    ScoobyA4 ding dang do

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can obtain a copy from an old PC / disk or download one (from dodgy site). it will still work as long as you can get the key from MS!

    getting this is where it will go tits up. the software is not a prob.
    #2
  3. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    little tip for MS - Just tell them that you are rebuilding a PC which the software was registered on...The monkey on the end of the phone will prob just do it...Its worked for me a few times. We are a gold partner mind.
    #3
  4. ScoobyA4
    Offline

    ScoobyA4 ding dang do

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    if this is the case, get them to sort it, or take the PCs back due to being sold.

    I personally dont have any issues with it. i run it on 3 out of 4 PCs and all is well!
    #4
  5. Beerzo
    Offline

    Beerzo Masa'warty 3200... Talk To Me!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    As far as i was told in my Vista training in work (IBM) that there is a process in place that you can downgrade to xp it just takes a bit of flaffying about.

    O did you know Vista has a built in secuirty that monitors the hardware in the machine. If you change enough components in your system it will think that its been transferred to another machine and lock itself down. Copyright protection system. We have customers that have upgraded memory and g f/x cards and then Vista locks down.
    Its good once you know what your doing. Just needs a wee bit of development. Remember the Xp has 6 years of full release development behind it and Vista only has 6 months.
    #5

Share This Page