1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

windows found open? very strange!

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by cnpaterson, Nov 26, 2005.

  1. cnpaterson
    Offline

    cnpaterson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 26, 2005]
    Heres a weird one!

    Wife parked avant tdi '02 at work and locked the car as normal with the key fob. When she went out to the car at lunch time both front windows were open, (se model only has elec front windows). This has never happened before and has not done it since. Does anyone know what could have caused this? Obviously don't want it happening when its pouring rain or when an opportunist thief is passing.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 1, 2014]

  3. mikeA2B
    Offline

    mikeA2B Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 26, 2005]
    This happened to me last year, then the alarm started to play up, it turned out to be the central convenience module gone faulty.
    #2
  4. simon_golf_tt
    Offline

    simon_golf_tt Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 26, 2005]
    This has happened to me once also - and in the rain! I hasn't happened since.

    Do you know that if you hold down the lock or unlock buttons it puts the windows up or down - I guess it's possible to do this my mistake in your pocket or bag.
    #3
  5. kenny_boon
    Offline

    kenny_boon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    58
    [Nov 26, 2005]
    yip this happened to me once too, never happened again tho
    #4
  6. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Nov 26, 2005]
    Happened to me yesterday on my B6 Avant, only halfway down though, never happened before
    #5
  7. auroan
    Offline

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Nov 26, 2005]
    Could your other half had sat on the remote. If you hold the unlock button down long enough it operates the electric windows
    #6
  8. imported_G4JSG
    Offline

    imported_G4JSG Guest

    [Nov 27, 2005]
    I did this once too, came out to the car in the morning and the inside was soaked. The range on the rmeote is stupid, my remote works from around 15 to 25 meters usually or if there are no buildings around it's about 50 meters. Why would you ever want that kind of range Audi???
    #7
  9. imported_ronny
    Offline

    imported_ronny Guest

    [Nov 28, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    I did this once too, came out to the car in the morning and the inside was soaked. The range on the rmeote is stupid, my remote works from around 15 to 25 meters usually or if there are no buildings around it's about 50 meters. Why would you ever want that kind of range Audi???

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Same reason we have open windows on remote, it's simple to fix, just ask the dealer to turn it off.

    The op's problem could be a faulty convienence module, have a look around the forums there is loads of evidence this unit causes the windows to open on there own, and it is also pretty damn hard to accidently open the windows on a Audi, you have to hold the open door switch for over 3 secs, and then if the signal is lost it reverts to another 3 secs, this is why it is hard to open your windows from a distance, unless you hold the keyfob to your chin /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    Try it, you will be surprised how hard it is to open your windows, unless you are standing near your car.
    #8
  10. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Nov 28, 2005]
    Also if you accidentally unlock and roll the windows down, don't they roll back up if the door isn't opened within a set time, or is that just the central locking?
    #9

Share This Page