1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 7

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by rasA4, Jun 7, 2009.

  1. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,116
    Likes Received:
    1,422
    Yeah 1st thing to notice is the speed, much quicker but so far nothing revolutionary but bet the same issue comes up, driver & software vendors will feck it all up, thats the main issues with vista, wasn't MS's fault, was them that didnt write the software/drivers properly & everyone jumped on bandwagon to blame MS when clearly wasnt there fault, eg. Nvidia took 6 months after vista was released to have something stable & that is pathetic.
     
  4. consilio

    consilio Up the owls!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    3
    Have it running on my solid state Dell Mini. Vista would never do that! Very impressed so far
     
  5. MintyS3

    MintyS3 Works 60% the time, Everytime.

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    4
    Im going to wait for while after the official release so they can iron out any issues and get some drivers sorted. Hopefully it will be better this time as Im sure alot of the pc/gaming enthusiasts will want to leave vista asap to go to 7 and therefore force the vendors to release software for it.

    Problem is now there will be 3 microsoft OS and Im pretty sure xp and vista will be continued to be used for years to come so some of the companies might be slow to react to 7.

    Think I might install it on a test pc at work as see whats what.
     
  6. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,116
    Likes Received:
    1,422
    Curiously wonder if its similar issue you had as with the old issues with XP & the F6 sata chipset installs, as FDD's were starting to not be fitted this kinda fecked up some of my clients, given couldnt F6 for floppy disk driver update, so wouldnt install as couldnt see the damn drive so I had to make a new xp install disc & integrate the new chipset drivers with something like nlite or similar or manually & also backup imaging systems didnt/dont include the sata chipset drivers so restoring an image wasnt possible with say Acronis cause this also couldnt see the drive.

    So given SSD's are in there infantsy & vista's now what 2 years old, vista probably didnt have the needed software inclusive to recognise the drive even if it uses a sata connection, thats the only reason I can really see for your issue where as Windows 7 would have been geared up for newer tech hence SSD worked.

    Thats my analogy anyway, but 7 is definitely alot faster & install was a breeze & damn quick even if vista was also quick & painless.
     
  7. MintyS3

    MintyS3 Works 60% the time, Everytime.

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    4
    Does it use any less ram? Mines about 1gb idle on Vista Premium 64.
     
  8. consilio

    consilio Up the owls!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    3
    Using about 850Mb right now with 4 IE tabs open, Live Messenger and Outlook 2007. Seems to need a lot lower spec which is why Vista would have never worked on the Mini (didn't even bother trying), especially with the Atom processor
     
  9. Nilz

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)
    Audi Sport Owner Group Team Silver Audi S3

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,803
    Likes Received:
    634
    How would i upgrade my Vista, would it just overwrite it, also would I lose any of my info or data on my lappy??
     
  10. Caesium

    Caesium My BM is fixed!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    Partition the HDD and install it on the new partition, or run it in Microsoft Virtual PC
     

Share This Page