1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Window

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by migzy, Jun 13, 2007.

  1. migzy

    migzy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    Me drivers side window no longer goes down at one touch of the buitton (using the drivers side controls), where the passenger one does.

    Is there anyway of resetting it.

    Cheers
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Boydie

    Boydie Guest

    check your manual, maybe hold it in for a longer period of time?

    i only found out last week that if you put your key in the door and hold it to the right, both windows go down and likewise with the left, both go up!
     
  4. h5djr

    h5djr Well-Known Member
    Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A3 quattro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,351
    Likes Received:
    922
    Was the ignition on or off. It makes a difference. With the ignition ON the one-touch works. With the ignition OFF you have to keep your finger on the button.
     
  5. renfrew

    renfrew Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    With the window closed, and the ignition "on", when you pull the button "up" for at least one second it will reset the electrics to "one-click closing" (for want of a better description). You can hear a slight click (from a relay?) when you reset it this way, at least from the driver's seat :)
     
  6. migzy

    migzy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    ignition on.

    p.s if you hold down your alarm button on your key fob it also puts the windows up
     
  7. migzy

    migzy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'll give it a try tonight, is it both button you have to pull up or just the right one ?

    cheers
     
  8. renfrew

    renfrew Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Each button works independently, so far as I know. I suggest that you hold each button up one at a time and not all at the same time. I've no idea what would happen if you held all buttons up at the same time and I've never done that myself. It has worked for me on the couple of occasions over the last few years when the one-touch control seems to have stopped working, and I reset each button one at a time.
     
  9. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,315
    Likes Received:
    486
    And holding the unlock button windows them down :)

    To the OP, to get the reset to work you have to first put the window all the way up then release the button then pull it to wind the window up (even though it's already up) and hold it for a second or two. This always works for me.

    Basically the default mode is for the one-touch to be disabled for safety reasons. If anything obstructs the window it will switch this feature off until it's reactivated using the above procedure. Disconnecting the battery also disables the feature.
     
  10. h5djr

    h5djr Well-Known Member
    Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A3 quattro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,351
    Likes Received:
    922
    My new Sportback was delivered with the one-touch enabled.
     
  11. smee

    smee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine was too
     
  12. benw123

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    2
    Same here, although - spookily - the one-touch switch also didn't seem to be working today either. Maybe it was just me, as I tried it again when leaving work and the window dropped, but it sure looked like it had stuck.
     
  13. steve184

    steve184 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    has your battery been dsiconnected? For a short while after reconection this feature doesn't work (i'm not sure of the reason for this but it is comon on quite a few makes of car - possibly just the elctrics resetting or something)
     

Share This Page