1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Window mod question

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by Aidy06, Jul 13, 2013.

  1. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 13, 2013]
    Hi, just purchased VCDS and trying to get to grips with it. Is there a mod I can do that would enable me to use my windows after I've turned the ignition off? As it stands now, when I stop the car and put the window up it will stop if I turn the ignition off which I do all the time. I want to be able to work the windows after the ignition is off, is this possible? Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. T3nnant
    Offline

    T3nnant Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    65
    [Jul 13, 2013]
    surely cant be that big of a problem to sit for that extra 4 seconds?

    you can always press and hold the lock button on your key that will raise the windows and unlock will lower (but it does every window)
    #2
  4. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Jul 13, 2013]
    as above use the fob
    #3
  5. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 13, 2013]
    It is, it's a massive problem. I don't like sitting in my car for longer than I have to ha. My two Golfs I had before my A3 did it so I'm sure it must be able to be activated. I don't use the fob to open/close all windows as when I had that on my Golf I came down one morning and all my windows where open haha
    #4
  6. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Jul 13, 2013]
    you cant mod it to keep power to the windows
    close them as your pulling up with 1 touch
    #5
  7. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 13, 2013]
    My Golf definitely used to it, I'd use the one touch and as they where going up I could turn ignition off and they'd finish closing.
    #6
  8. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Jul 13, 2013]
    golfs do keep power when igg is off

    the audi wont and no code to change it
    #7
  9. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 13, 2013]
    No problem, thanks for the info buddy
    #8
  10. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 19, 2013]
    Ok I've set the windows to open and close using the fob via VCDS, it's not working as it should though. If I hold the lock/unlock button the car opens but windows don't roll up/down, I have to press and hold the lock/unlock button AGAIN and then the windows will roll up/down. Is there something I'm missing somewhere? Thanks
    #9
  11. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Jul 19, 2013]
    Have u got selective locking 1 press drivers door 2nd press all doors ?
    #10
  12. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 19, 2013]
    No mate, I deactivated that. One click opens all as it is now
    #11
  13. Artimus
    Online

    Artimus Short Back

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,892
    Likes Received:
    368
    [Jul 19, 2013]
    I near certain I saw an option in VCDS to have Windows active for a few seconds after ignition off\key out? ..maybe opening the door cancels it?? but I'm sure I've seen something along those lines.
    #12
  14. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 19, 2013]
    Yeah I've sussed that out, I can work windows after turning ignition off but comfort touch isn't available. I'm now stuck with the second querie I posted in this thread
    #13
  15. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 20, 2013]
    Still having trouble with this, surely I must be missing something somewhere?
    #14
  16. shariain
    Offline

    shariain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    186
    [Jul 20, 2013]
    When I stop the engine and remove the key in my A3 and the S3 the windows still work without one touch until one of the doors are opened.
    #15
  17. Aidy06
    Offline

    Aidy06 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 20, 2013]
    Yeah I've sorted that now mate, thanks. I'm now trying to get help with post 9
    #16
  18. shariain
    Offline

    shariain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    186
    [Jul 20, 2013]
    That's what my 8p A3 does it. I press the button once the car locks/unlocks if I press the button again it then puts the windows up/down. I would think its better that way then you could avoid putting the windows up/down by accident like what has been posted on here a few times.
    #17
  19. Artimus
    Online

    Artimus Short Back

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,892
    Likes Received:
    368
    [Jul 20, 2013]
    Didn't realise that was your second issue! as Sharain says, it's meant to be that way... prevents accidental opening.
    #18
  20. Garrry
    Offline

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    Hi - this might not be the right thread.

    I have an 8P A3 and when I use my remote/key to lower or raise the window the windows don't drop level. One goes quicker than the other. Should it do this or have I got a fault?
    #19
  21. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    you must have a bad motor
    #20
  22. Garrry
    Offline

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    It's not a massive issue but I notice it. Just worry that when the other side is up I am still running the motor for Nother second while the other catches up!!
    #21
  23. Miked6405
    Offline

    Miked6405 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    Check your window seal it might be slowing it down burning your motor out
    #22

Share This Page