1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will this head unit fit my car ?????????

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by holmefield, Jul 13, 2011.

  1. holmefield
    Offline

    holmefield Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. bugwhizz
    Offline

    bugwhizz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    This is the older RNS-D unit are you sure this is what your looking for?
    #2
  4. holmefield
    Offline

    holmefield Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    Why is it not that good???

    Should i be looking for a RNS-E unit?? do the rns-e units have ipod adapters? whats the going rate for rns-e units

    Any help would be much appreciated
    #3
  5. Az
    Offline

    Az Hard slammed!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    Cheap plug but I also have my RNS-D unit for sale.... In the classifieds section.
    #4
  6. paulsb
    Offline

    paulsb Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 15, 2011]
    that is the model for b6, rns-e is for a b7. the seller might have a b7. at £30 and if its still working, you could sell it on for atleast £100.

    its worth adding that some people have upgraded to rns-e form rns-d.

    the 2 units will do mostly the same job. try you tube reviews for both and decide on which one you prefer.
    #5
  7. Az
    Offline

    Az Hard slammed!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Jul 15, 2011]
    I have a mate that has a 2003 B6 S4 which has an RNS-E that was fitted from the factory.
    #6
  8. Az
    Offline

    Az Hard slammed!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Jul 15, 2011]
    An RNS-D is definately what you want mate, and I have one sitting right here with your name on it! ;)
    #7
  9. Pabs
    Offline

    Pabs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Jul 15, 2011]
    Rns-e DVD with 2 x memory card slots will fit a B6 with double din stereo, you will need to get a wiring adaptor from kufatec they are about £35-£40 from germany i have fitted it in mine, with the wiring adaptor it takes minutes to fit.

    Heres a link to the satnav Audi A4 S4 navigation RNS-E RNSE latest maps MINT! | eBay
    #8
  10. holmefield
    Offline

    holmefield Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 15, 2011]
    Hummm, im getting tempted to get one.....So is the RNS-D a good headunit other then the sat-nav bit???
    #9
  11. Pabs
    Offline

    Pabs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Jul 15, 2011]
    Its advertised as spares or repair but thats because the guy hasn't got the right cable adaptor for it, that thing what audi has said to him is complete rubbish, its cheap enough but there is no comparison to the RNS-E, its got bigger screen, motorised screen, DVD drive, memory card slots etc etc.
    #10
  12. Az
    Offline

    Az Hard slammed!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Jul 15, 2011]
    There is nothing wrong with the satnav bit on the RNS-D, it's got me everywhere where I've wanted to go without fail. Mine will be going on eBay over the weekend, at £150 for an OEM satnav it's cheap as chips IMO.
    #11
  13. bugwhizz
    Offline

    bugwhizz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 16, 2011]
    From what i can gather, the RNS-D does a good job but the RNS-E is the newer model, more updated with memory card slots etc.

    I've just upgraded my B6 to an RNS-E as i thought if i'm spending the money, i may aswell buy the better kit and save messing about in the long run.

    Your money and your choice though, which is basically what it boils down to at the end of the day.

    Just read up on both units and make an informed decision, google search is your friend mate.
    #12
  14. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,719
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jul 16, 2011]
    can the "D" unit take 6 CD's or the "E" unit ?
    #13
  15. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Jul 16, 2011]
    Both are compatible with 6 CD-Changer but they will only accept a single disk in the unit.

    I would forget about the RNS-D, is a long since dead unit, even the mk1 RNS-E is end of life. Don't waste your money, get a few extra quid saved up and go for the mk1 RNS-E.
    #14
  16. holmefield
    Offline

    holmefield Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 16, 2011]
    How much should i pay for a mk 1 RNS-E then?
    #15
  17. Az
    Offline

    Az Hard slammed!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Jul 16, 2011]
    So your saying that the mk1 RNS-E is end of life, don't waste your money and save a few extra quid for a mk1 RNS-E.........

    Is it me or does that not make much sense??
    #16
  18. Az
    Offline

    Az Hard slammed!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Jul 16, 2011]
    They tend to go for £300-£400
    #17
  19. Pabs
    Offline

    Pabs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Jul 16, 2011]
    i bought my 2009 RNS-E off ebay from lithuania for £320 + delivery, then add £40 for the stereo adaptor cable, so all in you'd be lookin about £400, but it is well worth it.
    #18
  20. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Jul 16, 2011]
    Yep that's just what I'm saying . I would rather go for the mk1 rns-e, it still as third party developments like kufatec devices, Audi bluetooth, Fiscon etc etc don't see anything like that for the rns-d. Also maps are more detailed, updated poi from the latest map disk, no pi$$ing around buying disks if you use the car in Europe.
    #19
  21. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,719
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jul 16, 2011]
    can you watch digital TV on it and how ?
    #20
  22. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Jul 16, 2011]
    Do a search on kufatec ima, there are other solutions like the genuine Audi digital tv tuner this is available for the mk1 & 2 rns-e
    #21
  23. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jul 17, 2011]
    definitely!! I have freeview+ and a full multimedia player in mine... they're about another £350 for the parts alone though!
    #22

Share This Page