1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

will these lights fit

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by S3 chj, Jan 24, 2008.

  1. S3 chj
    Offline

    S3 chj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    1
    #1
  2. jeffers999
    Offline

    jeffers999 got boost

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    1
    yep pretty sure mate think ya got to mod the wings a little on the inside a little tho ...
    #2
  3. S3 chj
    Offline

    S3 chj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    1
    dont mind cutting the wing
    #3
  4. jeffers999
    Offline

    jeffers999 got boost

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    1
    I dont mind watching either lol ,, im sure someone will be along soon with more info i could be wrong but i heard it takes a little cutting...
    #4
  5. mattys3
    Offline

    mattys3 vorsprung durch technik

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    i really wont some of them my self but the xenons any idea of the price of them i dont really wont the hid kit.
    #5
  6. mattys3
    Offline

    mattys3 vorsprung durch technik

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    there was a post on this the other day with pics do a search on it.
    #6
  7. FactionOne
    Online

    FactionOne Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    113
    Yeah you have to cut away a little of the wing, nothing too taxing though...

    As you look at the wing with the current lights installed; there's a 'crease' where it folds in behind the indicator portion; which comes to a small piece of wing that sits behind your indicator, that's the bit that needs to be trimmed. It's not difficult or particularly risky so long as you take your time and work to the rule "you can take it off but you can't put it back on" - once cut you'll just need to seal the bare metal on the cut edge to prevent rust; but you can use whatever you like to do that as the edge will be hidden.

    You'll also need to make an adapter for the wiring, there are a couple of ways this can be done but again, nothing too tricky.

    I'll try to find some pics/links...

    Regards,

    Rob.
    #7
  8. FactionOne
    Online

    FactionOne Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    113
    There were some pictures to go with this but they're no longer in his webspace; I'll try to find some more. This is probably the best way to do the wiring too as you don't end up modding anything on the car's wiring...

    Regards,

    Rob.

    #8
  9. FactionOne
    Online

    FactionOne Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    113
    #9
  10. S3 chj
    Offline

    S3 chj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    1
    FactionOne many thanks mate realy helpfull will try and do a deal with the guy and collect them tomorrow
    #10
  11. s3ollie
    Offline

    s3ollie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    7
    what did you guys do regarding the change position of the lower screw on the headlight? did you make a bracket?
    #11
  12. rodenal
    Offline

    rodenal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found that because of the way i trimmed the wing, the headlight sits in very tight anyway, so it only needs the 2 screws at the top to hold it firm.
    #12
  13. sainte986
    Offline

    sainte986 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    #13

Share This Page