1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

will cdrw discs work in Bose Symphony system

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by aagallarini, Feb 12, 2005.

  1. aagallarini

    aagallarini Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've burned a few cdrw discs but they won't play in my S4s Bose system. Is there a fix, or will it just not work?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    Should work, they play OK on all Audi CD changers. Are you using music CD-R's? If so try burning one at a slower speed.
    It won't play MP3's just oldstyle music CD WAV's.
     
  4. They work in mine.I only use copys in the car,the originals i keep in the house.
     
  5. oops i din't realise you meant cdrw, i use cdr
     
  6. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    Good point, CDRW's won't work they have to be CD-R's. I know at 10p each it's not as cheap but certainly better than getting a new head unit and changer.
     
  7. aagallarini

    aagallarini Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I know that CDRs work, but I tried one brand CDRW and it worked some of the time. Then I bought a new pack of CDRWs and they wont play. Maybe I'll try a slower burn. Since they are rewriteable, it's not a big deal. The CDRs are actually the cheaper ones. I just bought a 100 pack of CDRs for $22 USD.
     
  8. The Slug

    The Slug Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    0
    u need to close the CD, so that the unit will recognise it a proper music cd, CD-R 's are they whey to go
     
  9. evomaster3000

    evomaster3000 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    4
    i can't use cdrw in my sony 10-disc cd changer even when it says it will play em! my headunit plays them tho!

    i have 11 cd slots! lol cos the changer came with the car and i put my ch unit in to play my cdrw's.

    may not be of any use cos it's sony not oe.
     
  10. HTC

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure that you are finalising the disc when you burn the data.
     
  11. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    Not much point using a CDRW then really.
     
  12. HTC

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    Not much point using a CDRW then really.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    You can reuse finalised CDRWs.

    When you blank the disc the TOC is simply melted via the stronger laser. You then reburn.

    Finalising a CDRW does not mean it is then not reusable.
     
  13. monty77

    monty77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    CDRWs never worked in my Symphony when I had it in the car ... tried a few different brands.

    A
     
  14. dunk

    dunk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    cdrw may work depending on the manufactuer - similar problems with dvd-rw - some work and some dont with commercial players

    if you find a make that works in your head unit then stick to that one -

    for the cost of cd-r though, i would just use those - cdr are much more reliable in non-computer readers although i have had some makes that arent reliable long term - usually last less than a year if they are left in the changer all the time cos they are quite warm and this seems to alter the disks over time.
     

Share This Page