1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will Bose amp work in non-bose S3?

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by C_Audiboy, May 12, 2006.

  1. C_Audiboy
    Offline

    C_Audiboy Vroom Vroom

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2006]
    As per subject, with symphony II headunit.

    Does the Bose amp provide a direct replacement for the standard part I have?

    Anyone know the correct part number for the Bose amp?

    I've saw a couple going fairly cheap recently and might give it a go if its a straight replacement.

    Cheers
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 24, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [May 12, 2006]
    No definately not. the 2 systems are completely different.
    The Bose system has 2 amps, a 4 channel driving the cabin speakers and a 2 channel driving the sub.
    The non Bose system has the fronts running off the HU amp, and the rears and sub running off the tiny amp inside the sub.
    In addition all the Bose speakers are 2 ohm whereas the non Bose are all 4 ohm.
    The wiring to the amps is also different. The Bose wiring runs front and rear pre outs all the way to the right cubbyhole amp, then one front & one rear to the sub.
    the non Bose runs only rear pre-outs to just the sub, and then speaker outputs back out to the rear speakers.
    So to use the Bose amp you'd have to rewire the car front to back, replace all the speakers and then also fit a Bose sub. You'd have to be mad to go to these lengths as the Bose upgrade in the S3 is not much of an improvement on the standard system and harder to upgrade.
    If your current non Bose sub/rears are not working then you can pick up a replacement sub with the amp in it on ebay for about £30. Alternatively if you are looking to upgrade th system then go for a stealth sub, which replaces the current sub, and a proper 4 ch amp hidden behind the rear speaker panel. This provides a massive improvement as you have a proper MDF enclosure for the sub (not the tupperware box that both Bose & non Bose share) and plenty of power to get real punchy bass from it, not the woolly rumble that the Bose unit produces + 2 channels to run the rears as well with no loss of boot space or anything on show.
    #2
  4. C_Audiboy
    Offline

    C_Audiboy Vroom Vroom

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2006]
    Cheers AndyMac - I won't be fitting the Bose amp then!!

    All speakers and sub are working at the moment, I was just gonna fit the Bose if it was a straightforward and cheap replacement.

    What would be the cost involved in fitting a stealth sub and enclosure like you mention?

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #3
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [May 13, 2006]
    A3/S3 with Concert/Symphony non-Bose system
    Sub enclosure (satin black with gold speaker terminals, brackets, wiring & wadding) - £90
    JL Audio 6.5" sub (JL-6W0-4) - £85
    Alpine MRV-F400 4 channel 200w RMS amp - £90
    Wiring (40amp power cable, earth lead - £20
    Adapter loom, RCA loom to plug into Audi sub loom - £20
    Optional Installation - £60 (Southampton)
    [​IMG]
    #4

Share This Page