1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will an aftermarket sub work with symphony?

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by dgannon69, May 16, 2006.

  1. dgannon69
    Offline

    dgannon69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 16, 2006]
    as in the subject i've got a Fly sub 1000watt with a built in amp brand new which i've never fitted. I already have the audi sub built into the boot.

    Is it possible to use the wiring to the original sub and re-wire to suit this one or will the head unit not be able to support it?

    Regards

    Dave
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 26, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [May 16, 2006]
    YEs you can link into the wiring to the sub and pick up the rear pre-outs and remote on, but if you have the non-Bose system then the factory sub/amp also powers the rear speakers so you can't disconnect it without losing the rears.
    Obviously you have to run a new power cable for the new amp.
    #2
  4. dgannon69
    Offline

    dgannon69 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 17, 2006]
    that sounds good and bad then mate! Is there a simple way of rewiring it all so the rear speakers still work? it will be too bassy without them i would imagine!

    Thank you
    Dave
    #3

Share This Page