1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

will a replacement ABS module work?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by deejames, May 13, 2013.

  1. deejames
    Offline

    deejames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    my ABS light is coming on every now and then and after a scan i`ve traced the issue back to the ABS module. I`ve found a replacement with the same part number so my question is will a replacement module work?
    #1
  2. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    Yes but you may need to make a note of the coding in your module then code the replacement with that of your old one.
    #2
  3. Ian2012
    Offline

    Ian2012 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    25
    make sure its exactly the same part no
    #3
  4. deejames
    Offline

    deejames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    i`ve got the shareware version of VCDS lite, will that give me the code i have and allow me to recode the replacement?
    #4
  5. deejames
    Offline

    deejames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    i used VCDS lite to find the part number of my existing one and have found a few from a supplier with the same part number reasonably cheap, working and no lights showing when removed from the cars - not sure exactly what model/specs unfortunately
    #5
  6. deejames
    Offline

    deejames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bradderz_1988 - got to say your car looks proper BTW :arco:
    #6
  7. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,156
    Likes Received:
    100
    lol it does in pictures not in the flesh though needs quite abit of cosmetic work, well it is nearly 14 years old lol
    #7
  8. deejames
    Offline

    deejames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    update:

    i`ve found a good guaranteed or your money back ABS module which is on its way as i type with exactly the same part number. After i fit it i will update any issues that cropped up, weather i needed to recode it etc - hopefully the info will be of use to someone!
    #8
  9. Iceash
    Offline

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    9
    Lucky so n so! I couldn't find one for love nor money. Just ordered a new one!
    #9
  10. deejames
    Offline

    deejames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry to hear that! - did you have to recode the new one?
    #10
  11. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Active Member Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    175
    I had to recode the one i fitted on my a6. depends if the donor car is identicle or not, different brake sizes, car chassis, drive train are all factors.

    Where abouts in essex are you, if you have it fitted tomorrow im going to be around in the afternoon, so long as your not too far out of harlow i might be able to help.
    #11
    deejames likes this.
  12. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    The early non-esp ones arent codeable AFAIK. Just bolt in and go.
    #12
    deejames likes this.
  13. Dimokslis
    Offline

    Dimokslis Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    What if VCDS can not communicate with ABS module? It wouldn't be possible to get the old coding in that case.
    #13
  14. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Active Member Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    175
    eprom it or use genuine vcds to suggest the new coding :D
    #14
    deejames likes this.
  15. Dimokslis
    Offline

    Dimokslis Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Also, If I understand correctly, code does not have to be exactly the same - 8E0 614 111 **
    where *:
    FWD; Bosch ABS 5.3 = AB, AD, D, AC, AE or w/o index;
    FWD/ABS/EDL Bosch 5.3 = P, B, Q, F;
    FWD/ABS/TCS Bosch 5.3 = R, C, S, G;
    4WD/ABS/EDL Bosch 5.3 = M, A, N, E.

    So, if my one (faulty one) is 8E0 614 111 A I can put one with ...E
    Is that correct?
    #15
  16. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Active Member Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    175
    I wouldnt mess too much with brakes personally. like for like is the way i went with my a6 even though it cost me 125 for the pump and a long drive to collect it.
    #16
  17. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    I believe E and A are the same part (one supercedes the other)
    #17
    deejames likes this.
  18. Iceash
    Offline

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    9
    nope, plug n go :)
    #18
    deejames likes this.
  19. deejames
    Offline

    deejames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks everyone - the help is well appreciated, i`m going to do it when i get back from holiday and will update here in case anyone finds it usefull
    #19
  20. deejames
    Offline

    deejames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update:

    i fitted the replacement module over the weekend and can confirm for my car at least (1998 A4 Avant 1.8 petrol) the replacement module with exactly the same part number did work straight away without any need to recode. So for a total outlay of £45 i managed to fix the problem myself (£20 lead for VCDS and £25 delivered for the ABS module) and i have the lead and VCDS lite for future use. The only thing i would say is make sure you have the correct star screw bits and ideally a right angle screw driver attachment or a very short screw driver to get at the screws!
    #20
  21. boost-addict
    Offline

    boost-addict Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    35
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2013
    #21
  22. deejames
    Offline

    deejames Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    #22
  23. boost-addict
    Offline

    boost-addict Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    35
    thats a good price, cheers
    #23
  24. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    i need one for my tqs too, but will prob just send mine to bba reman, £100 full refurb
    #24
  25. boost-addict
    Offline

    boost-addict Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    35
    i would do the same, but i have one problem, i dont have the abs module any more
    #25

Share This Page