1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

will a poss thermostat prob cause **** mpg?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by dares_uk, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. dares_uk

    dares_uk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    2
    ok, i think i have themorstat issues on my 1999 s3,
    the temp gauge occasionly works, if it does it never goes up past a quarter,
    and will go back to nothin sometimes too,

    would this effect mpg at all?

    im getting 300 to a tank atm, a tank = £60. :s
    exspensive,
    but recently lost my job too, so dont wonna go throwing money
    at a thermostat change if it aint gonna help really.:p

    and can ant one recomend any garages around exeter, newton abbot, torquay
    for some work on my car, and which are reasonable/cheap??

    cheers
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Speedy Steve

    Speedy Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yes it can but id be tempted to get the temp sensor aswell. I did just for peace of mind
     
  4. golf

    golf ***** rent boy
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    2
    300 a tank is decent if you're doing mostly motorway. The thermostat can be a DIY job but only if you have the correct tools, as the bottom bolt on the thermostat housing is an absolute nightmare to get out.
     
  5. finesse

    finesse Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
  6. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17,774
    Likes Received:
    2,202
    If the engine isn't getting warm because the thermo is sticking and/or the temp sender is playing up so the ECU thinks the engine isn't warm then yes you will use more fuel.

    300 miles for a tank isn't bad all things considered though...

    <tuffty/>
     
  7. dyce martin

    dyce martin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am only getting 250 miles per £60 tank this is doing short journeys maybe 5 miles at most
    i thought this was ok and would be happy with 300 per tank!!
     
  8. Speedy Steve

    Speedy Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    15
    At one stage my stage 1 mapped S3 was doing 400-425 miles to a tank
     
  9. martin g

    martin g [censored]

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    My car tells me I get this too, but how accurate the car is ...well thats different
     
  10. brys3

    brys3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    I live on the isle of man so a full tank of v power costs me 80. My average mpg is 27 And my s3 is supposed to be remapped. I have this similar problem with my temp gauge too. Onboard comp last night said I'll get 410 miles, I'll see how this goes and report back. Relieved someone is in my situation
     

Share This Page