1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

will a poss thermostat prob cause **** mpg?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by dares_uk, Mar 17, 2010.

  1. dares_uk
    Offline

    dares_uk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    ok, i think i have themorstat issues on my 1999 s3,
    the temp gauge occasionly works, if it does it never goes up past a quarter,
    and will go back to nothin sometimes too,

    would this effect mpg at all?

    im getting 300 to a tank atm, a tank = £60. :s
    exspensive,
    but recently lost my job too, so dont wonna go throwing money
    at a thermostat change if it aint gonna help really.:p

    and can ant one recomend any garages around exeter, newton abbot, torquay
    for some work on my car, and which are reasonable/cheap??

    cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. Speedy Steve
    Offline

    Speedy Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    Yes it can but id be tempted to get the temp sensor aswell. I did just for peace of mind
    #2
  4. golf
    Offline

    golf ***** rent boy VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    300 a tank is decent if you're doing mostly motorway. The thermostat can be a DIY job but only if you have the correct tools, as the bottom bolt on the thermostat housing is an absolute nightmare to get out.
    #3
  5. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    #4
  6. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,926
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    If the engine isn't getting warm because the thermo is sticking and/or the temp sender is playing up so the ECU thinks the engine isn't warm then yes you will use more fuel.

    300 miles for a tank isn't bad all things considered though...

    <tuffty/>
    #5
  7. dyce martin
    Offline

    dyce martin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    i am only getting 250 miles per £60 tank this is doing short journeys maybe 5 miles at most
    i thought this was ok and would be happy with 300 per tank!!
    #6
  8. Speedy Steve
    Offline

    Speedy Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    At one stage my stage 1 mapped S3 was doing 400-425 miles to a tank
    #7
  9. martin g
    Offline

    martin g [censored]

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    My car tells me I get this too, but how accurate the car is ...well thats different
    #8
  10. brys3
    Offline

    brys3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 17, 2010]
    I live on the isle of man so a full tank of v power costs me 80. My average mpg is 27 And my s3 is supposed to be remapped. I have this similar problem with my temp gauge too. Onboard comp last night said I'll get 410 miles, I'll see how this goes and report back. Relieved someone is in my situation
    #9

Share This Page