1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why won't any keys sync with my car and VCDS?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Bad Sir Culation, Jan 23, 2014.

  1. Bad Sir Culation

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    17
    Anyone had this? I've just got the one key, so I thought perhaps the PCB is fooked. Bought a used key on ebay and decided to try that tonight. Swapped in the new batteries from my existing key and tried changing the stored value to 1 in the central locking adaptation menu. Click to save, press the key, nothing.

    What are the chances of me having two knackered keys here? Am I doing anything wrong? I followed a Youtube video which did exactly as I described so can't see that I have. I have managed to find the old casing of my original key and so been able to check the part numbers. They are both the same, the one starting 4D0.

    Very confused..... and certainly very frustrated.

    Does it matter that the stickers with the part numbers on are orange? I.e. not sure if the genuine items have a particular type of sticker on them etc.

    Any ideas very welcome folks. I ordered a third key when I was playing about on eBay so will have a 3rd option to try shortly.
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    177
    try ch 00

    read, test save do it.

    then back to remote adaptions and try again
     
  4. Bad Sir Culation

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    17
    Already done that I'm afraid :(

    I can't see what the issue could be other than being extremely unlucky with the keys at this point.
     
  5. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    177
    Ill put money on being able to sort it. Im free on saturday if you want to head down the A1
     
  6. JimS3

    JimS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    72
    Have you cleared the any existing stored keys first?

    They normally won't allow you to match new ones unless you wipe all previous stored keys and start fresh.
     
  7. Bad Sir Culation

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yeah Jim! That's what saving channel 00 does.

    @udi A3, PM me your location mate. Will be good to see if you get any joy!
     
  8. Ian2012

    Ian2012 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    29
    Had the same thing on my passat one key just lost it's ability to open or close the, tried all the different ways of setting it up and no joy i think it's the key
     
  9. Bad Sir Culation

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    17
    Er... Well one of them is working now! I didn't realise but it won't operate while there's a key in the ignition.

    Didn't make sense to me, as the Stored Value still shows as 0 in the adaptation menu but perhaps I am slightly off in my understanding and that just specifies the memory location for the key, not how many are actually stored?

    It turns out my original key doesn't work at all. I put new batteries in a few weeks ago but when running adaptation it doesn't change to recognized when I press it, whereas the used key I bought did.

    Locked the car up and then pressed the spare 2nd hand fob and it worked!

    Can I get a blade cut for the working fob and then pair the immobiliser with VCDS or do I need some special code I keep seeing mentioned for this?
     
  10. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    177
    Yes I can virginise the transponder and reprogram it to your immo.
     
  11. JimS3

    JimS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    72
    You could take the circuit board out the new working key and put it in your old key that has a matched transponder and blade.
     
  12. Bad Sir Culation

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    17
    Can't I reprogram it with VCDS though? Or do I need a code?
     
  13. Bad Sir Culation

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yeah Jim, got a second key coming that I will do just this with. Don't want to disturb the working one yet lol

    Edit: if I try to add a second key now, I change the value on VCDS to 2 but only have to press the button on the latest key, right? And that would store it as key 2?
     
  14. Bad Sir Culation

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    17
    What are these brass bits in the corners on this new (old) key? Mine didn't have them, it was just a case of prising the PCB out. uploadfromtaptalk1390650772495.jpg
     
  15. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    177
    Brass bits are from an oem key.
     
  16. Bad Sir Culation

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yeah I know, as the key in the pic is OEM. What I'm stuck with, is do I just pull them off to get the PCB out?
     
  17. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    177
    I dont take many keys apart like that so wouldnt know, works out cheaper in the long run for me to buy new stock
     

Share This Page