1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Who's got VCDS light for their A3? Simple question please ...

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by TimG, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. TimG
    Offline

    TimG Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    42
    [Apr 19, 2011]
    Posting this in here as the VCDS forum moves at a snails pace..

    Basically I have VCDS light on my Windows 7 laptop & a £10 interface cable I bought from ebay. It worked fine on my 8L S3 & my 8N TT before that.

    On my 8P A3 it still connects to the car, but then A3 8P chassis isnt listed in the menu on VCDS?

    Do I need a different cable?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. Silky-S3
    Online

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    305
    [Apr 19, 2011]
    Yes mate, you need the CAN-HEX-USB cable, as the 8P A3 uses the CAN system.

    Hope that helps.
    #2
  4. TimG
    Offline

    TimG Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    42
    [Apr 19, 2011]
    Thanks.

    Should it be a case of buying this cable to make the 8P chassis option appear on my VCDS menu, or will I need to download a different version?

    Dont suppose you can link me to a cable so I get the correct one? ... Ebay maybe?
    #3
  5. TimG
    Offline

    TimG Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    42
  6. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Apr 19, 2011]
    That version is very old so be aware that you may not be able to do all you want, depending on the age of your car.

    Since then versions 908, 10.6.2 and 10.6.3 have been released.
    #5
  7. TimG
    Offline

    TimG Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    42
    [Apr 19, 2011]
    Are we talking VCDS lite here?

    Even if I buy the correct cable Ross tech site says VCDS lite doesnt work with CAN-BUS vehicles (I guess why it doesnt appear in the list when I connect it up!)

    Ross-Tech: VCDS-Lite

    Am I right? That means everyone on here that has a 2003+ car & VCDS working has the full version?
    #6
  8. Gti Jazz Blue
    Offline

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Apr 20, 2011]
    Yes - invest in the proper VCDS cable the support is fantastic.

    Paul
    #7

Share This Page