1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Who uses an AFR gauge and which one?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Scullies, Jun 14, 2013.

  1. Scullies
    Offline

    Scullies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    318
    [Jun 14, 2013]
    Been looking at an AFR gauge. Seems most popular wideband ones are AEM and Innovative.

    Was wondering what you use?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe Princess Clap.

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,327
    Likes Received:
    906
    [Jun 14, 2013]
    I think most of the guys on here use the AEM item, although I am led to believe that it mostly because it says poo on start up.

    [​IMG]
    #2
    slowcoach3 likes this.
  4. Scullies
    Offline

    Scullies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    318
  5. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe Princess Clap.

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,327
    Likes Received:
    906
    [Jun 14, 2013]
    I don't really know to be fair, I just trust in my mapping and that my tiny turbo can do no damage.

    PT or Prawn are your best bet. I will link Prawn to this now for you.
    #4
  6. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,336
    Likes Received:
    698
    [Jun 14, 2013]
    AEM until now... I have had 3 of these fail now in less than 12 months... Not impressed..

    Trying a PLX one now

    Previously used VEMs combined afr and egt - baulky wiring at gauge my comment on those. Working ok tho.
    Zeitronix is what I use in badgerwagen for last 7 years... perfect!
    #5
  7. lovemelongtime
    Offline

    lovemelongtime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Jun 14, 2013]
    I used to use NGK AFR (NGK Performance Products - Powerdex AFX™) excellent bit of kit. This is was integrated into the map on my Emerald K6 ECU.

    Excellent reviews and extremely accurate. Jim @ JKM Performance mapped my car with it.
    #6
  8. burns3
    Offline

    burns3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jun 14, 2013]
    Is there any place in the uk that sells the zeitronix afr gauge you use Bill or can you only get them from the usa?
    #7
  9. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,336
    Likes Received:
    698
    [Jun 14, 2013]
    how much was it?
    #8
  10. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
  11. jay1601
    Offline

    jay1601 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jun 14, 2013]
    i'm using a AEM, no problems at all with it
    #10
  12. lovemelongtime
    Offline

    lovemelongtime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Jun 14, 2013]
    Hey Bill, I paid around circa £160 as I ordered it from the states. PM me if you are interested?
    #11
  13. Chlippo
    Offline

    Chlippo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Jun 14, 2013]
    #12
  14. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    128
    [Jun 15, 2013]
    Sorry to hi-jack slightly Darren

    These use feed from cars lambda yeah?
    Has anyone tried any of these gauge apps on android or iPhone?
    Do they give similar accuracy?
    #13
  15. Sam_
    Offline

    Sam_ Down under

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    345
    [Jun 15, 2013]
    Liquid gauge
    #14
  16. Scullies
    Offline

    Scullies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    318
    [Jun 15, 2013]
    the aem and innovative are stand alone systems, they come as a kit with an oxygen sensor that needs a bung welded into the downpipe for fitment. I think the PLX is also the same but comes with a different type of controller box, the gauge is almost as thin as a tea biscuit by the looks of thing :D

    i have seen other types of gauges that take a feed off the signal wire on the ecu oxygen sensor, but these type of gauges sound dodgy to me. The oxygen sensor uses such a small voltage to take it readings, I think adding more hardware to the system might throw the reading out and if it does then the ecu reading will be wrong and it will try to correct things by adding or subtracting fuel when it doesn't need to. Well that's by theory and I may be wrong.
    #15
  17. StaceyS3
    Offline

    StaceyS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,131
    Likes Received:
    198
    [Jun 15, 2013]
    #16
  18. Pedrosousa
    Offline

    Pedrosousa Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 15, 2013]
    I'm using innovate MTX-L, I had three with problems not a good choice....
    #17
  19. jonno123
    Offline

    jonno123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jun 19, 2013]
    i use a techedge 2j2 imo the best you can buy around £300

    i have wired it into my emerald k6 , for closed loop/adaptive mapping ,
    #18
  20. Scullies
    Offline

    Scullies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,282
    Likes Received:
    318
    [Jun 20, 2013]
    Im still undecided on this one. Not sure if a like the digital read outs, think I prefer the needle sweep style - Yes, you can call me old and unfashionable!
    #19
  21. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,336
    Likes Received:
    698
    [Jun 20, 2013]
    best you can buy for what reasons?
    Its double the cost of an AEM for example...
    #20
  22. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,336
    Likes Received:
    698
    [Jun 20, 2013]
    You are old and unfashionable

    :)
    #21
    Scullies likes this.
  23. jonno123
    Offline

    jonno123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jun 20, 2013]
    it can do data logging (if you want) and is very accurate compared with the bosh industry standard lambada kit we use a work and its reliable

    Aem is all so a very good bit of kit as ive seen many of people using it

    it all depends what you are using it for
    #22
  24. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,336
    Likes Received:
    698
    [Jun 20, 2013]
    The sensor is Bosch conventional lambda yea?
    Logging is done by my Dyno software, from analogue input from the AFR gauge.. all measurements in one place then, and recorded against dyno runs for pressures, temps etc etc

    Trying to figure whats more accurate about this one you mention. Measurement wise.
    #23

Share This Page