1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Top Up Oil for my 2.0T

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Fast3000, Mar 23, 2012.

  1. Fast3000
    Offline

    Fast3000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All!

    Hope your well! my A4 2.0T drinks oil......as many do! Top up every 3000 / 5000 miles depending.....!

    Anyway Ive used Castrol Edge 5 - 30W ( I am prety sure thats the correct rating or whatever it says in the handbook!). Is there anything better you would recommend? maybe something not as thin? It doesnt bother me too much just curious to know experiences of other drivers?

    thanks
    #1
  2. scotty76
    Offline

    scotty76 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    264
    The Castrol Edge stuff is what I use and haven't had any issues. I believe the dealers use Castrol Longlife SLX III 5W-30 which you can buy on ebay.

    I've never had a car that needed oil between services but the 2.0TFSI certainly does. I wonder why.
    #2
  3. Fast3000
    Offline

    Fast3000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks Scotty,

    Im still looking for the answer to that....nothing concrete.....
    #3
  4. scotty76
    Offline

    scotty76 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    264
    If you look in the handbook it says something like expected oil consumption "up to 0.5l per 1000 miles" so Audi certainly seem to expect you'll use some oil.
    #4
  5. Steveiejay
    Offline

    Steveiejay Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    22
    I checked mine for the first time after the oil change 700 miles used 500ml - 600ml

    It's a lot innit!
    #5
  6. mikeb7
    Offline

    mikeb7 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    12
    Mine uses some its the Turbo that uses some I read somewhere
    #6

Share This Page