1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Remap

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by co55ie, Aug 2, 2006.

  1. co55ie
    Offline

    co55ie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 2, 2006]
    My new car a3 sline quatro 2.0t is coming up for 1000 miles and I was wondering which remap to go for . Revo AMD APR etc.

    Would be interested in hearing peoples first hand experiences.

    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. co55ie
    Offline

    co55ie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 2, 2006]
    I am concerned about the dealer being able to update/reflash the software on the ecu after its been remapped. Is there any truth in this ?
    #2
  4. marriedblonde
    Offline

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 2, 2006]
    Yes they can. I've got Revo code on my car and love it.

    J.
    #3
  5. co55ie
    Offline

    co55ie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 2, 2006]
    So the dealer still can update the numerous other parameters of the car via the ecu after its been remapped.

    Lol its all a bit confusing. I have been tempted by a Revo remap with the switch but am a bit concerned as to the implications as the cars only a month old
    #4
  6. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 2, 2006]
    It's a bit obvious the remap I would recommend!

    My 2.0TDi was remapped at 2 months old, overall mileage since I bought it in September 05 12,800 miles, average mpg over that distance, 49.4mpg and I don't drive it slowly. The best real world car I've ever had. The DSG gearbox is excellent.

    To answer your question, if a dealer reflashes the ecu after a remap and clears the remap, we restore the remap without charge, as we keep a detailed log of the remap for each car.

    Whichever of the mainstream remaps you choose, you won't regret it.
    #5
  7. gurds_1
    Offline

    gurds_1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 3, 2006]
    I have a 2.0T S-line remapped revo stage 1, love the extra torque, brilliant thrill, press the accelerator for a joke sometimes just to feel the g-force. I dont know what amd or the others are like, but its well worth getting a remap.
    #6
  8. a3norwich
    Offline

    a3norwich Not anymore - Back 2 BMW (shh)

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 3, 2006]
    Hi!

    First post... Be gentle! Have an S-Line Spec/Ed 2.0 TFSI Quattro w/1,800 miles and am thinking of getting it Revo'd. Have read loadsa threads about trashed clutches and the like! What's the verdict? Many threads say the Revo remap is great, but not sure I wanna splash out over a grand on a new clutch in however long - although maybe warranty might cough!

    Any thoughts? Cheers!
    #7
  9. co55ie
    Offline

    co55ie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 3, 2006]
    I would imagine that the cluch life is solely down to how you treat the car .

    If you do loads of fast standing starts the clutch is going to suffer especially on a quattro. Drive with a bit of sympathy and I imagine it would last a reasonable time.

    Seems like the Revo map sounds good . Just still a bit sceptical as to whether the servicing dealer can see the map when its been switched back to standard mode. I was also concerned about the dealer being able to update the ecu if it had been mapped.
    #8
  10. a3norwich
    Offline

    a3norwich Not anymore - Back 2 BMW (shh)

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 3, 2006]
    Yeah, true I guess, but there's a hell of a lot more torque to deal with on even the stage 1 Revo remap! Wonder how the clutch would cope over a period of time...

    As far as I am aware, the remap is totally invisible to a dealer. But unless it was switched back to "stock" setting, they would tell on a test drive.
    #9
  11. co55ie
    Offline

    co55ie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 3, 2006]
    I am concerned about the head gasket , turbo and wondering if running more boost is going to cause blow by and hoping that the standard oil breather can cope aswell as the clutch
    #10
  12. SteveTDCi
    Offline

    SteveTDCi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 3, 2006]
    I have a Golf TD and thats just been remapped by Superchips and there bluefin device. Personally I would always reccomend them although I would be willing to try REVO, Its probably a Pepsi / Coke thing. One thing you cannot argue with is Superchips customer service.
    #11
  13. a3norwich
    Offline

    a3norwich Not anymore - Back 2 BMW (shh)

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 4, 2006]
    Not really too bothered about a Revo or Superchips installation, although Clive Atthowe here in Norwich did suggest Revo is the preferred method for VAG cars. Quite like the idea of being able to disable it for service/dealer visits too. Just concerned about longer term issues with increased strain on engine and other components (eg clutch/drive train). The new S3 allegedly has uprated engine components, etc to cope with its 265BHP...!
    #12
  14. S_Line
    Offline

    S_Line Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 4, 2006]
    Cant reccommend Clive enough, always have used Clive and his team for service and Tuning of my cars.

    Revo is ideal as stated above :)
    #13
  15. SteveTDCi
    Offline

    SteveTDCi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 5, 2006]
    You can instsall / remove superchips map using bluefin although I think its only available for the 2.0 TDi at the moment. Superchips also mapped the VW Racing DSG Golf GTi and they haven't had any issues with that. Price for Bluefin is £599 but most forums will get a discount.
    #14
  16. co55ie
    Offline

    co55ie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 5, 2006]
    I have bitten the bullet and booked my car in for a revo remap and also purchased the select switch thing.

    Anyone know how these switches work ?
    #15
  17. marriedblonde
    Offline

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 6, 2006]
    As I understand it the ECU has both the standard and uprated remap on it and the switch selects which of these maps is used.

    MikeP is out friendly Revo dealer and I am sure he will be along to put us straight.

    J.
    #16
  18. co55ie
    Offline

    co55ie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 6, 2006]
    I just hope it doesnt blow up :w00t:
    #17
  19. marriedblonde
    Offline

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 6, 2006]
    I covered 65K in my Golf Gti 1.8T and that was running 227bhp without any issues.

    Covered about 15K in my Tdi now with the revo code and so far so good :D

    J.
    #18
  20. co55ie
    Offline

    co55ie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 6, 2006]
    that is reassuring to know
    #19
  21. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 6, 2006]
    Hi Guys

    The SPS1 switch activates a software gate in the ecu to change between the std and Revo maps. The std and Revo maps occupy different areas on the EEPROM and the switch changes the pointer to the map to be used. If you have a 2 stage remap an additional switch setting is used. Simple as that!
    #20
  22. co55ie
    Offline

    co55ie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 7, 2006]
    Any idea of the boost pressure run on a revo'd 2.0t ?
    #21
  23. Daz A3 TDI 130
    Offline

    Daz A3 TDI 130 Warp factor 10

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 7, 2006]
    Hey guys,
    just got off the phone with a guy from superchips london, based in Uxbridge. He is doing full remap with rolling road figures before and after for around £450 plus he will give a 2 week money back guarantee if ya don't like it!

    Im getting mine done next month :superman:
    #22
  24. co55ie
    Offline

    co55ie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 7, 2006]
    Is that Power Engineering in Uxbridge ?

    If so they do a goos job and have done loads of work on my previous cars all with good results
    #23
  25. mikep
    Offline

    mikep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 8, 2006]
    I don't know the exact figure, but usually about 1.25/1.35 bar peak.
    #24
  26. co55ie
    Offline

    co55ie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 8, 2006]
    thanks for that thats
    good to know that its not a ridiculous amount and am not going to have more fuel in my sump than oil :biggrin:
    #25
  27. SteveTDCi
    Offline

    SteveTDCi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 8, 2006]
    I ran a chipped focus for 42k with non bad results (Superchips)
    #26
  28. johnmv55
    Offline

    johnmv55 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 9, 2006]
    I've just bought the Revo switch to switch the "map" back to std as it's approaching a service, I thought I had better try it before the date gets too close just in case it didn't work, I can report it did work OK, but the difference when I put it to std was amazing, you just forget over time just what an increase you do get.............................
    #27
  29. d3fy
    Offline

    d3fy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 9, 2006]
    hmmm - must get remap...
    #28
  30. S_Line
    Offline

    S_Line Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 9, 2006]
    its important to be able to switch back to standard,, Trust me as i lost my 3 year wARRANTY
    #29
  31. d3fy
    Offline

    d3fy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 10, 2006]
    what happened?
    #30

Share This Page