1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where to run power cable in 8P S3?

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by sakkie69, Oct 18, 2008.

  1. sakkie69

    sakkie69 2008 Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    As per topic, any tips on where I can run the power cable for an amp on a RHD 8P S3? I've tried to look but wasn't very succesful. Just wanted to get some ideas on where it through the firewall. I saw one grommet on the passenger side on the firewall but half the aircon is on the other side. It's a 4 gauge cable if size matters.
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. sakkie69

    sakkie69 2008 Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    *bump* anyone?
     
  4. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer...
    VCDS Map User Gold Supporter Team Sepang Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,130
    Likes Received:
    990
    I would think that the passenger side would be the place. The grommet would probably be it. AndyMac is probably the man to speak to as he is the man, who helped me with my 8L S3.

    Most probably you'll need to take the glovebox out with some trim to get to the grommet from the passenger side.
     
  5. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    44
    Never worked on an 8P so wouldn't know for definate. If you have DSG then you can use the blanking grommet where the clutch cable would have been. Alternatively the easiest route is usually through the ECU cover which normally drops straight into the drivers side footwell. There's a lot of cables that run through there.
    On the 8L theres a handy grommet in front of the pollen filter (passenger side under the wiper scuttle) but not sure if this is the same on the 8P.
     
  6. sakkie69

    sakkie69 2008 Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah had a look and there is a grommet in the section that does the rain catch (where the wipers go on). I'll try dig up in Elsawin how to remove it, I suppose it's park the wipers in maintenance mode, unbolt them and pull the plastic cover off.
     
  7. RGC

    RGC I void warranties"!

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    could the power from the stock factory fitted amp not be tapped from the back to run a after market amp ? :weight_lift2:
     
  8. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    44
    What the puny 5 amp cable? I don't think so, unless you want the car to catch fire. You need to run a proper 40 amp, 8 gauge or bigger cable straight to the battery to run any proper amp.
     
  9. RGC

    RGC I void warranties"!

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    installed my amp today and took some pictures of that blanking grommet where the clutch pedal would have lived if my car wasn't a DSG :sex:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page