1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where to replace turbo. turbo exchange (Reading) Berkshire

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by markytuck, Nov 7, 2013.

  1. markytuck
    Offline

    markytuck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 7, 2013]
    Hello,

    I need to get my turbo replaced, the "police siren" noise is becoming louder and its really about time I got it fixed.

    I have a Audi A3 2.0 TDI 2005 S-Line (remapped stage-1) 140k Miles on the clock

    Basically looking for somewhere near Reading (berkshire) where I can have this done.

    Had a Quote from MS Auto's already for £790 + vat for a refurbished Garrett completely fitted. Or that + £150 for a new one.

    sounds good to me but just wanted to hear some other thoughts.

    Regards

    Mark
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. Brodster
    Offline

    Brodster Shark Performance In Scotland Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,441
    Likes Received:
    798
    [Nov 7, 2013]
    My mates just about to scrap his Golf TDI that had a new turbo on it.....possibly only 1 month old. Think he was after about £550 for it.
    #2
  4. tdi-man
    Offline

    tdi-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Nov 7, 2013]
    midland turbos are very good for turbos .
    #3
  5. s3_sid
    Offline

    s3_sid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Nov 7, 2013]
    only use brand new genuine turbos on tdis , id use turbo dynamics and get a genuine new one !

    you will only have problems if you go for a recon unit !

    have a read of this Insist On Genuine Garrett VNT Turbochargers the main problem is setting them up once rebuilt and the fact that genuine parts are not available to rebuild them
    #4
    sliced likes this.
  6. markytuck
    Offline

    markytuck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 7, 2013]
    Cheers for the feedback, probably give some people a call tomorrow to find out costs etc.

    Would the stage 1 remap effect the choice of turbo? I'm assuming not as the stage 1 was designed to be done with standard components.
    #5
  7. s3_sid
    Offline

    s3_sid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Nov 7, 2013]
    Stage 1 map is fine on a stock turbo but as I have stressed I would get a new genuine one over recon as you will only be pulling it out in the near future
    #6

Share This Page