1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where to buy GOOD CHEAP K04 for AMK?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Nogmeister, Jul 23, 2012.

  1. Nogmeister

    Nogmeister Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    8
    As above, I reckon my turbo isn't long for this life. Where can I get a quality replacement, maybe an exchange so get a bit of money back for mine, and I wouldn't be adverse to a hybrid....

    Cheers
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. dancupra225

    dancupra225 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    25
    hybrid cost more than just a turbo bud alot more than simple turbo change, injectors re-map unless u got stage 2 setup that would be a start to get there
     
  4. Prawn

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    11,112
    Likes Received:
    2,741
    What makes you think yours is dead?

    So many people seem to think their turbo is dying when more often than not it's something else reasonably simple and comparatively cheap.

    If it IS the turbo, CR turbo's will rebuild your standard unit, or hybrid is to a spec of your choice. They also do a collect and deliver service so location isn't an issue.
     
  5. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Prawn is spot on.

    Best thing to do is to send your turbo of for a rebuild. As long as the turbo housing isn't cracked you won't need a new unit. I sent my K04 off to Turbo Dynamics but mine was beyond repair. A rebuild would have been around £250 but the replacement I needed was about £700 :(
     
  6. Nogmeister

    Nogmeister Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    8
    Cheers guys, you make me see the light as always! When I bought the motor I had my mechanic give her the once over and he said theres a bit of oil getting through from the turbo - more than usual. Was advised to keep an eye on it....

    Now I did a little 0-60mph run, testing with Liquid gauge, and although I know im no launch specialist, I thought it went pretty well - until I saw it read 10.4secs! OMFG

    There was no missed gears or anything daft, everything felt better solid, ESP was off so hopefully no power being cut by engine, and yet a poor time. Car seems to be making 235bhp 222lb/ft and 19 psi boost. Surely something is awry here?

    Im gonna ask for a go in my mates S3 which is a BAM but stage 1, so should be similar. If it's a lot faster then I'll know something is definately up...
     
  7. James TQ

    James TQ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    7
    Sure the Gauge isn't just a bit naff? Go find somthing fairly equily powered have a light to light drag race ;)
     
  8. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,572
    Likes Received:
    640
    235hp from 19psi of boost seems a bit odd to me.

    I'd suggest its not running right.
     
  9. Nogmeister

    Nogmeister Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    8
    In what way mate? Not making enough boost?
     
  10. Nogmeister

    Nogmeister Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    8
    It reads off the OBD port, so dunno really?
     
  11. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,572
    Likes Received:
    640
    well the figures dont tally.

    Stock car with 225hp runs about 12psi

    You've got 19 and are only making 10hp more...

    Could be a faulty MAF if the power figure came from the Liquid guage. Need to get it checked out either way.
     
  12. Nogmeister

    Nogmeister Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    8
    Well mine is the AMK so only 210 as standard I think. Not getting any codes on Liquid other than coolant temp sensor/thermostat one - (done cts, thermo is next job).

    Bit bamboozled on this tbh
     
  13. James TQ

    James TQ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    7
    how precise are the gauges, boost wise how do they 0compare to manual boostys?
     

Share This Page