1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where to buy GOOD CHEAP K04 for AMK?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Nogmeister, Jul 23, 2012.

  1. Nogmeister
    Offline

    Nogmeister Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jul 23, 2012]
    As above, I reckon my turbo isn't long for this life. Where can I get a quality replacement, maybe an exchange so get a bit of money back for mine, and I wouldn't be adverse to a hybrid....

    Cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. dancupra225
    Offline

    dancupra225 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 23, 2012]
    hybrid cost more than just a turbo bud alot more than simple turbo change, injectors re-map unless u got stage 2 setup that would be a start to get there
    #2
  4. Prawn
    Offline

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9,637
    Likes Received:
    1,382
    [Jul 23, 2012]
    What makes you think yours is dead?

    So many people seem to think their turbo is dying when more often than not it's something else reasonably simple and comparatively cheap.

    If it IS the turbo, CR turbo's will rebuild your standard unit, or hybrid is to a spec of your choice. They also do a collect and deliver service so location isn't an issue.
    #3
  5. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,307
    Likes Received:
    973
    [Jul 23, 2012]
    Prawn is spot on.

    Best thing to do is to send your turbo of for a rebuild. As long as the turbo housing isn't cracked you won't need a new unit. I sent my K04 off to Turbo Dynamics but mine was beyond repair. A rebuild would have been around £250 but the replacement I needed was about £700 :(
    #4
  6. Nogmeister
    Offline

    Nogmeister Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jul 23, 2012]
    Cheers guys, you make me see the light as always! When I bought the motor I had my mechanic give her the once over and he said theres a bit of oil getting through from the turbo - more than usual. Was advised to keep an eye on it....

    Now I did a little 0-60mph run, testing with Liquid gauge, and although I know im no launch specialist, I thought it went pretty well - until I saw it read 10.4secs! OMFG

    There was no missed gears or anything daft, everything felt better solid, ESP was off so hopefully no power being cut by engine, and yet a poor time. Car seems to be making 235bhp 222lb/ft and 19 psi boost. Surely something is awry here?

    Im gonna ask for a go in my mates S3 which is a BAM but stage 1, so should be similar. If it's a lot faster then I'll know something is definately up...
    #5
  7. James TQ
    Offline

    James TQ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jul 23, 2012]
    Sure the Gauge isn't just a bit naff? Go find somthing fairly equily powered have a light to light drag race ;)
    #6
  8. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,614
    Likes Received:
    318
    [Jul 23, 2012]
    235hp from 19psi of boost seems a bit odd to me.

    I'd suggest its not running right.
    #7
  9. Nogmeister
    Offline

    Nogmeister Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jul 23, 2012]
    In what way mate? Not making enough boost?
    #8
  10. Nogmeister
    Offline

    Nogmeister Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jul 23, 2012]
    It reads off the OBD port, so dunno really?
    #9
  11. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,614
    Likes Received:
    318
    [Jul 23, 2012]
    well the figures dont tally.

    Stock car with 225hp runs about 12psi

    You've got 19 and are only making 10hp more...

    Could be a faulty MAF if the power figure came from the Liquid guage. Need to get it checked out either way.
    #10
  12. Nogmeister
    Offline

    Nogmeister Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jul 23, 2012]
    Well mine is the AMK so only 210 as standard I think. Not getting any codes on Liquid other than coolant temp sensor/thermostat one - (done cts, thermo is next job).

    Bit bamboozled on this tbh
    #11
  13. James TQ
    Offline

    James TQ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jul 23, 2012]
    how precise are the gauges, boost wise how do they 0compare to manual boostys?
    #12

Share This Page