1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

where is the speed sensor wire please help

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by JA50N, Apr 4, 2012.

  1. JA50N
    Offline

    JA50N Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have done a quick search but could not find the answer sorry.
    I am looking to fit my sat nav and need to find the speed sensor wire the car is an S3 2001 model hopefully somebody has fitted one and can help I presume it will be ok on this to solder/scotchlock it on when i find it and it wont cause an errors on the system
    #1
  2. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25,996
    Likes Received:
    1,589
    Off the top of my head, the S3 was changed to Can-Bus wiring during the facelift, so 2001 should be CanBus, I think you might need a CanBus adaptor to extract the speedpulse, otherwise, on earlier cars, it's one of the wires off the ISO connectors.
    #2
  3. JA50N
    Offline

    JA50N Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thankyou Jojo I will have a look hoping I don't need an adapter but no doubt I will
    #3
  4. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    44
    Is there a way of telling if your MK1 Facelift S3 is canbus? I've not seen a definitive answer on this.

    Liam
    #4
  5. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25,996
    Likes Received:
    1,589
    I'm not 100% sure, if you scan it with VCDS, I'm sure it recognises if it's CanBus and tells you before the scan?
    #5
  6. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    just to add my 10p to this...

    i have a facelift S3 to which i have retro fitted RNS-E from an A4 (B6) and it supports canbus (not sure about pre-facelift though)

    In order to get the RNS-E to function correctly i had to run 3 wires from the back of the dash clocks the HU these wires were Can Hi Can Low and the Gala speed sensor wire. Cant remember off the top of my head what wires they are but if you need i can find out for you. I had to get some wire and remove the connectors on the back of the dash clocks and the splice the wires in and then fit it all back together.
    #6
  7. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    If the HU power ISO connector has both perm live and ignition on live (red with white stripe and red with yellow stripe) then it's not CANBUS, if it only has the red with white stripe perm live then it's CANBUS.
    #7
  8. JA50N
    Offline

    JA50N Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    sorry for the late reply but due to days off and weather only just got round to it.
    It is a canbus system according to the information supplied by AndyMac I tried with a standard stereo before I went to the trouble of installing my system but am having doubts about it as it does not switch the stereo off when you remove key so stereo will be permantly live and you have to switch on and off (I know this will become a pain) is there a way around this?
    Also the rear amp as AndyMac advised in another post is poor and once front speakers are on you can barely here the rear ones so to be correct would need rewiring is this a lot of work?

    This leaves me with three options which is where I would like some advice please.
    1. add an ipod lead to original chorus stereo (which is best,how much & where from, what functions would I have changing track charging etc) and will I still be able to use cd changer?

    2. rewire and put my stereo in but how would I get around the auto switch off? or will I always have to switch off manually as it is a din with motorised screen will become a pain.

    3. Fit the original satnav from I think they are the later 8p models what are the differances and how much work wiring is involved aerials etc what would i need to buy and what are the differances can i use dvd tv and ipod with it ( I will search more if you think this is the best option to go down but have no idea about these units)
    Sorry for the long post but would really like to go somewhere with this and as I have only just bought the car would rather take advice from people with more experiance than myself
    cheers for reading
    Jason
    #8
  9. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    #9
  10. JA50N
    Offline

    JA50N Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers that was a great help only thing is I have a single din unit although I guess that should be straightforward to change If I am honest it seems like a lot less wiring than putting my aftermarket one in.
    would you be able to send me the guide you used so I could have a look at how to do it and look at getting the parts together

    cheers
    #10
  11. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Yes mate no probs just PM your email addy and i can send over the stuff i have.

    when i was buying my car i had the idea that i wanted to do the RNS-E upgrade so i found one that already had a double din hole as i knew it would make it easier. One of the pdf i will send you has the single to double din uprade info in it so that should help you out as of course i didnt do that bit.
    #11
  12. JA50N
    Offline

    JA50N Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers you have a pm :thumbsup:
    #12
  13. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    You have Email and an a PM :)
    #13
  14. JA50N
    Offline

    JA50N Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers :icon_thumright:
    #14

Share This Page