1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where is the fuse box in my A3?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by sharma, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. sharma

    sharma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    When using my indicators they work but they also cut off themselves and i have to indicate again. This is continually happening. I am trying to locate my fusebox in my A3. Does anyone know where this is? (its on a 52 plate).

    Thanks.
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. MikeA3

    MikeA3 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,178
    Likes Received:
    1
    there is a panel on the side of the dash (drivers side) as you open the door, the fuses are behind there

    Mike
     
  4. sharma

    sharma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, i just found that. The reason i wanted to know where the fuse box is located is because in my MK2 Golf there would be a relay there and that was normally the cause of the problem. I cannot see a relay here.

    Does anyone know what is causing me this problem? The indicator works fine sometimes, it cuts of other times, and sometimes when the indicators are on the pattern is rather strange. Also in the fuse box compartment there is big sticker which contains numbers for each type of fuse. However i cannot figure out which number is for which fuse?
     
  5. rodenal

    rodenal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    The numbers can be found in your handbook - it doesnt sound like a fuse issue to me tho, more likely the stalk itself i'd say
     
  6. Nilz

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)
    Team Silver Audi Sport Owner Group Audi S3

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    11,040
    Likes Received:
    732
    Sounds like it may be the relay
     
  7. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    40
    The relays are under the knee bolster on the drivers side.
     
  8. sharma

    sharma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought it may be the relay but the hazards seem to be working??
     
  9. HTC

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do the indicators remain on when the car is stationary? Has it anything to do with how the steering wheel is positioned?
     
  10. simonwjones

    simonwjones Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    The hazard warning switch has dual relays for the indicators and the hazard switch.

    9 times out of 10 strange indicator problems are caused by the hazard switch.


    Simon
     
  11. sharma

    sharma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that, it was the relay. I read an old post here and it said the hazard switch has 2 relay's. One for the hazards and one for the indicators. I replaced the hazard switch which contains the relay's and it solved the problem.
     

Share This Page