1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

where have the forums gone?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by sfource, Jun 13, 2002.

  1. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    I cant see any car forums - only the general, av/it .etc

    Rich
    #1
  2. AL_B
    Offline

    AL_B Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,572
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just logout and log back in again.

    AL
    #2
  3. Administrators
    Online

    Administrators Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,558
    Likes Received:
    235
    Sorry it's me having a good tidy up, just sorting out the forum and category orders out properly!
    #3
  4. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    Still cant see any /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif tried logging out and back in but it didnt work!

    Rich
    #4
  5. sfource
    Offline

    sfource New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    On the saloon does the mirror tilt to help parking? its a different design of mirror
    #5
  6. douglasr
    Offline

    douglasr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    <font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Is this not the default setting, though?

    When I asked my dealer, they did not actually know how to do it, [​IMG] and it was only when I experimented that I worked out the above sequence (I don't think its in the manual).

    That suggests to me that the default setting will allow the function.
    #6
  7. BigJon
    Offline

    BigJon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    <font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">It wasn't activated on my car at least. You should ask your dealer to get the full documentation of all cool car & key memory functions!

    /RS2
    #7
  8. Online

    Guest

    I'll try this on my car soon and let you know (I live in a flat at the moment and can't be bothered to walk all the way down to the garage right now)

    It will be interesting because when I picked up my car (in Belgium) I noticed that the mirror wasn't dipping on reverse. After half an hour of them trying to set the option, which the tech insisted did not exist except for the 3 series (I have an M5) I remembered reading on bmwm5.com about having to flick the selector switch over to the driver's side for it to work.

    Upshot of the long story is that they could only find one reverse/mirror related option on their diagnostic machine and my car would not take the setting.

    I'll try out the steps anyway and let you know... not sure what will happen since when I flick the switch to passenger side the mirror immediately starts to move back up.

    ciao

    Ian
    #8
  9. SteveS3
    Offline

    SteveS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't work on mine but when it goes in the 1200 service I'll ask them specifically about this.

    Regards,
    Neil.
    #9
  10. toasty
    Offline

    toasty Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Neil, haven't you reached 1200 miles yet? I thought I was slow this time around, but you've had yours at least a week longer than me.

    Have you had a chance to use the SPORT button, what do you think?

    Do you have any issues with your HK system? 2nd time around I'm not so impressed with mine, doesn't seem to make much difference when you press the sound button. I wonder if they have changed the system since earlier cars.
    #10
  11. S3Bangs
    Offline

    S3Bangs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    At least you have a 'Sound' button. We don't even get one of those on the convertible. [​IMG]

    Not enough room with all the other techno boll*x that's parked down there with the sport button, dsc, heated seats etc etc
    #11
  12. BigJon
    Offline

    BigJon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    <font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Yes, you are right Steve! HK subwoofers and amps were changed 09/01 in the coupe. Probably with other crossovers to solve the problem with rattle from the subs in the rear deck. /RS2
    #12
  13. SteveS3
    Offline

    SteveS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    <font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I've been way busy at work owing to our main compeditor going bust so no time to drive much. I noticed a buzz/vibrate yesterday but I think it was distortion because of a **** quality MD record. It no way as good as the system in the 330i thats for sure. I think I'll upgrade the system though but keep the standard head unit.

    Cheers,
    Neil.
    #13
  14. toasty
    Offline

    toasty Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    <font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Yes, you are right Steve! HK subwoofers and amps were changed 09/01 in the coupe. Probably with other crossovers to solve the problem with rattle from the subs in the rear deck. /RS2</font><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Damn shame!, I was quite impressed with the previous HK system (and mine didn't rattle). Now I'll have to consider an upgrade.

    Just bought a couple more B&W DM 601 S3s for my home setup, bliss..
    #14
  15. sfource
    Offline

    sfource New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    <font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Anyone?
    #15
  16. SteveS3
    Offline

    SteveS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    <font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Anyone?</font><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Phil yes it does - big time.

    Neil.
    #16
  17. SteveS3
    Offline

    SteveS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Steve,
    I've got those speakers aswell, they are fantastic. How have you amped them up? I have an individual amp driving each speaker and the quality is outstanding.

    Cheers,
    Neil.
    #17
  18. sfource
    Offline

    sfource New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers Neil, I take it you can adjust how much it does this by, like you can in the M3
    #18
  19. SteveS3
    Offline

    SteveS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK. I got the settings done to my car that let you modify the position. It works really well. Also got the auto locking and two stage door opening activated- very cool. Milcars did
    it free with my 1200 mile service.

    Regards,
    Neil.
    #19
  20. BigJon
    Offline

    BigJon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Neil, I'm glad to hear it worked on UK cars also! /RS2
    #20
  21. A4Steve
    Offline

    A4Steve Guest

    I have the same problem, my subwoofer rattles like no tomorrow. Sometimes it makes a high pitch rattle which is probably the most annoying thing I have ever experienced in my life. If I press down on the divider behind the backseats the rattling stops. It got so bad that I had to actually disconnect the subwoofer. I’m very close to stripping out the whole system and putting in an aftermarket one. [​IMG]

    After trying to ‘fix’ this problem I came to the conclusion that the panel which the subwoofer is stuck to is just to flimsy. It’s not rigid enough to have a subwoofer stuck to it. I think I’m going to get a box that sits on the floor of the boot.
    #21
  22. SteveS3
    Offline

    SteveS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    <font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Yeah - thanks for the info RS2 without it my dealer wasn't going to do anything.

    Cheers,
    Neil.
    #22

Share This Page