1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where does the OE sub live on a B5 Avant...?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by MaverickTDi, Jan 26, 2013.

  1. MaverickTDi
    Offline

    MaverickTDi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    1
    As in the title, where does the original Nokia sub woofer live on the B5 Avant's?

    Thanks.
    #1
  2. Mackers
    Offline

    Mackers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    behind the boot trim on the left of the boot (opposite the fuel cap), if you take off the access panel, and look in the hole and towards the front og the car, the black plastic it the "BOX" that it is in.
    #2
  3. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,086
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    [​IMG]
    #3
  4. MaverickTDi
    Offline

    MaverickTDi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cheers for the pic mate, now going to have a look to see if it's actually there, CD changer wasn't so I'm guessing this won't be either!?
    #4
  5. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,530
    Likes Received:
    301
    early cars didnt have it, but i think yours should seeing as its a '98.
    #5
  6. MaverickTDi
    Offline

    MaverickTDi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'll have a nosy in there anyway, I'm not 100% what my car should have tbh as it was a run out of the PFL on an S plate.
    #6
  7. TeKnodriver
    Offline

    TeKnodriver Biodiesel Purrrr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    to be fair it's hardly a sub anyway, just a bit of mid-bass gets it sounding a bit nasty... [it's made of tupperware plastic]
    you can see the side / top section just removing the pass. side cubbyhole cover without taling off the whole side panel.
    #7
  8. MaverickTDi
    Offline

    MaverickTDi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cheers peeps for responses, just checked and to my surprise its still there!

    My next question, would a Bose sub from the S4/RS4 slot straight in?
    #8
  9. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,251
    Likes Received:
    249
    No. With the standard setup the AMP if you can call it that feeds the rears speakers, and the head unit does the front speakers. With the Bose setup the AMP feeds all the speakers, so you would have to run the front speaker wires from the brown connector to the rear, and you would also need to run 2 wires for front left/right audio out to the AMP. Your also going to have to cut off the plug going into the current amp and and fit a new connect compatible with the Bose AMP.

    You should also replace the speakers as the Bose speakers are 2ohm, and the standard speakers are 4ohm, they would work with the 4ohm speakers but it's best if you have the correct stup.
    #9
  10. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,530
    Likes Received:
    301
    Bose is ****e anyway, buy a proper amplifier and proper subwoofer.

    You can pick up decent quality kit on ebay for buttons.
    #10

Share This Page