1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

When should you get stage 2 instead of stage 1?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by coyle, Jan 10, 2011.

  1. coyle
    Offline

    coyle From Show... to GO

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 10, 2011]
    sorry to start another boring remap thread.

    Ive got a JR filter, forge Split R, hoping to get one of bill's 3" tips soon,

    Would i be best going stage 1 or 2?

    I thought it would be fine having a Stage 1? but i called and spoke to a guy at PSI today, and he said i'd be better going stage 2, he said stage 1 is fine with no mods, but a few changes like what i want will handle stage 2?

    so im confused..
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 20, 2014]

  3. dany2k
    Offline

    dany2k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 10, 2011]
    hi mate, my understanding is you need a new dv (forge 007p?), sports cat, and 3" downpipe for a stage two reamap.
    #2
  4. jay1601
    Offline

    jay1601 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Jan 10, 2011]
    get a custom map ?
    #3
  5. coyle
    Offline

    coyle From Show... to GO

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 10, 2011]
    what you mean custom map?
    i thought they were all custom versions of each stage?
    #4
  6. sportstractor
    Offline

    sportstractor Chugger

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,715
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Jan 10, 2011]
    And FMIC I reckon
    #5
  7. dany2k
    Offline

    dany2k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 10, 2011]
    i think FMIC could be an investment if he's going for a new turbo... deffo worth a custom remap if he goes for the two together!

    a custom remap is a non-generic map, so basically, it'll be tailored to exactly what you want: i.e. stage 1 can be applied to any vehicle, regardless of mods, stage 2 for cars with a sports cat, dv and filter, and stage 3... when u have so much money u may as well buy an s3 :-D
    #6
  8. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Jan 10, 2011]
    Stage 3 is where the custom map comes into play..
    stage 2 = fmic, 3" downpipe,decent filter, ideally sussy and brakes to suit.
    #7
  9. Dane
    Offline

    Dane Faster than a V12 Q7

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,016
    Likes Received:
    93
    [Jan 10, 2011]
    I got a stage one map and forge dv, I then replaced the rods having seen welly's valve/piston trophy and I now have a 3" Tip and a badger 5 custom map. The map wasnt a necassity but it made more power with it so its a personal choice.

    With that done I plan to get an fmic fitted and then buy a 3" dp and miltek cat back, take it to Bill for fitting and ask him to stage two map it afterwards.

    It depends how far you want to take your car, I'm quite interested to see what figures I can get out of my standard k04 before I go hybrid. I will reinforce the fmic comments above, with the 3" Tip fitted mine got hot quickly hence why an fmic will be my next mod.

    I'm not sure but aren't most stage 2 maps still fairly generic? I thought You can adjust things more than you can on a stage 1 but they won't be as good as a custom map.
    #8
  10. Dane
    Offline

    Dane Faster than a V12 Q7

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,016
    Likes Received:
    93
    [Jan 10, 2011]
    And that tooo
    #9
  11. IGI
    Offline

    IGI Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 10, 2011]
    I never really get this "stage 1, stage 2 remap" why dont you do the mods you wish to do to your engine then get a custom map to suit.....at least then the map is tailored to the mods you have done.
    Just seams like an excuse for chip companies to make more money out of their generic flashed maps and bragging rights down the pub oooo ive got stage 2 lol
    #10
  12. coyle
    Offline

    coyle From Show... to GO

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 11, 2011]
    #11
  13. superkarl
    Offline

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,867
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    [Jan 11, 2011]
    thats for a ko3 turbo car not an s3.
    #12
  14. coyle
    Offline

    coyle From Show... to GO

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 11, 2011]
    is it? :( listing says S3, but maybe thats why it says the flange needs adjusting.
    i dont want to spend like 500£ on one, might just have to go, DV, JR filter, 3" badger TIP, and stage 1, i didnt realise i needed downpipe or FMIC on stage 2
    #13
  15. superkarl
    Offline

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,867
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    [Jan 11, 2011]
    no s3 is totally different, it would need a whole new flange on it for an s3, god knows why they say that. have you got an a3, if so id go for that, cant be that bad
    #14
  16. coyle
    Offline

    coyle From Show... to GO

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 11, 2011]
    Nah ive got an APY engined S3, with EPS.
    If i can get an s3 one fr under 200,il get it then iv gt everything i need for stage 2,
    Unless PSI were right in saying i dont need downpipe.
    AMDs site states you only need a cat back exhaust and uprated DV for stage 2..
    #15
  17. superkarl
    Offline

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,867
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    [Jan 11, 2011]
    try pipeworx mate for a downpipe
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 11, 2011
    #16

Share This Page