1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

When should my fuel light come on...

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by symun, Jun 21, 2011.

  1. symun

    symun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    had my audi 1.9tdi P reg a few weeks now and have been doing some average mpg tests, putting in a set amount and running it to a set point on guage then putting in again, not the prefered method but i cant afford to brim it...
    Anyway, the needle goes right down into the red but the light hasn't come on, i know the bulb works as it comes on with keys in ignition.
    Need to know if it is going to come on or is it going to run out.
    So far its averaging nearly 50mpg with a tuning box fitted, just not sure if i have a faulty dash..
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,609
    Likes Received:
    469
    Mine comes on with about 2 gallons left in the tank, and the DIS reports "0 miles left" with about 1 gallon left in the tank.

    I never pay much attention to the needle when it gets low, as the DIS and fuel light gives me the information i need.

    I always brim the tank, the only time i wont is if i've had to stop at a motorway services thats charging stupid money for fuel.

    IMO having to drive to the petrol station 5 times to put in a tenner of petrol uses more fuel than just filling the tank once with 50quids worth of petrol. Plus i hate filling stations, they're invariably full of morons, so the less time i spend wanting to kill them all the better!

    If you really want to find out if its broken, fill a fuel can with derv, stick it in the boot and keep driving until either the light comes on or it stops :p
     
  4. symun

    symun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    Cheers, as it happens it came on earlier and it binged so it works.
    What is the DIS, and why havent i got one.
     
  5. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,609
    Likes Received:
    469
    Presumably because your car is an early lower spec model?

    I think earlier low-spec cars just had four or 6 big square lights in the middle of the dash, whereas the higher spec models got the DIS, which is an LCD panel that replaces those 4/6 lights.

    Later cars all got the DIS afaik.
     
  6. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    DIS - Driver Information System.
    Its the red/black display in the middle of the clocks.
     
  7. symun

    symun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have the two screens the bottom has the outside temperature the upper one shows nothing, how do i get this to work.
     
  8. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    DIS

    [​IMG]
     
  9. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,609
    Likes Received:
    469
    The upper screen is probably the radio display, and presumably you have an aftermarket head unit.
     
  10. jonnycraig

    jonnycraig Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to highjack guys I also have the DIS'less version with the lights but at the bottom I dont have outside temp (I have an aftermarket stereo so not worried bout the radio display) any one got any ideas why theres no temp shown, it def has the temp module between the bumper and the rad.

    Thanks

    Jonny
     
  11. symun

    symun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    Looking at the pic its obvious i have the older style with just the 4 lights and 2 strips with the bottom strip showing temp in red and the strip above doesn't do anything.
     

Share This Page