1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What's my problem?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by BlackQuat, Sep 11, 2013.

  1. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    What is causing my problem?

    When I lock the car the indicators do not flash.
    Occasionally when I get in the car, the interior light doesn't go out. But the dash does show the door is closed.
    Right hand indicator does not make the dash click or flash (actual indicator works)
    Alarm indicator light in door doesn't flash unless I press lock several times, then it works but I can't get the alarm to work.

    Could this be the control unit under the dash or the control unit under the passenger seat?

    Any ideas?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,892
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    It could be either, it could also be leaky batteries in the alarm siren frying the PCB as happened to me last week.
    #2
  4. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    Hmmmmm Where's that bud?

    I currently have
    8E0907279 no letter
    Will a 8E0907279N be ok?
    #3
  5. swarcup
    Offline

    swarcup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    when my alarm didn't flash on locking it was broken wires in the door loom as the flex. The lights don't flash I think to let you know there is a problem with a door either not locking or unlocking. In my case the door was not locking. As soon as I repaired the wires they flashed again and the door lock was working again. Have you tried to see if your door is locking / unlocking normally, also may explain the alarm light not working aswell
    #4
  6. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    All the doors are locking and unlocking.
    Well, the only time it doesn't unlock is when the doors auto unlock when I take the key out of the ignition the rear right door doesn't unlock.
    But if I press unlock, it then does.
    I have this fault:
    Address 46: Central Conv. Labels: 8E0-959-433-MIN.lbl
    Control Module Part Number: 8E0 959 433 K
    Component and/or Version: Komfortgerát T01 0313
    Software Coding: 06880
    Work Shop Code: WSC 00000
    Additional Info: 8E2959802B Tõrsteuer.FS BRM 4.11
    Additional Info: 8E2959801B Tõrsteuer.BF BRM 4.11
    Additional Info: 8E0959801A Tõrsteuer.HL BRM 4.10
    Additional Info: 8E0959802A Tõrsteuer.HR BRM 4.10
    VCID: 3972F8CD237C9ED0275
    3 Faults Found:
    01332 - Door Control Module; Passenger Side (J387)
    80-00 - Single-Wire Operation
    01562 - Right Rear Door
    61-10 - Won't De-Safe - Intermittent
    01804 - Door Warning Lamp; Rear Right (W38)
    57-10 - Electric Circuit Failure - Intermittent


    But those were faults were there when it did flash?
    #5
  7. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,892
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    Have you scanned it since the issue has appeared?

    Siren is in the boot, on the offside behind the amp.
    #6
  8. swarcup
    Offline

    swarcup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    I still say door wiring, I had the first two faults also. from memory it was one of the pins in the connector block that is fixed into the a post, was only visible with a small mirror with the door open and wiring disconnected, the pin was blue and badly corroded.
    #7
  9. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    Cheers gents. I'll check both.
    So strip back the door pillar and look for broken wires?
    #8
  10. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    What faults did you get?
    #9
  11. swarcup
    Offline

    swarcup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    #10
  12. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,892
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    My indicators haven't flashed on arming for ages. The final straw was last week when the alarm just went off randomly.

    [​IMG]
    #11
  13. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    All ok now?

    This all got worse when I changed my main battery. I wonder if that's killed the alarm one?
    #12
  14. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,892
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    I've removed the siren for now, indicators still don't flash when arming, but I'm running without a siren at the moment. When I get it replace I'll recode it and see what happens. I also get the intermittent door locking code, and I know my door wiring isn't great as my speakers flicker sometimes.
    #13
  15. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    Well I've been out and there was a lovery green colour round the connections.
    So I took them out, no clearly broken wires. I've put some Vaseline on the pins to see if that helps and there's no difference.

    James, if you keep pressing the lock button. Does it eventually flash?
    #14
  16. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,892
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    No I don't think so, I'll double check tomorrow.
    #15
  17. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    Cheers James.
    Oddly mine will. Alarm still doesn't seem to work, no flashing lights or noise.
    But the door alarm indicator does flash and the indicators flash upon lock if I keep pressing lock.
    #16
  18. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,892
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    Door indicator LED is a solid light for 30 seconds and then flashes when the alarm is enabled I think?
    #17
  19. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    My door indicator on the drivers door only flashes after I keep pressing lock till it eventually flashes the indicators.
    #18
  20. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 12, 2013]
    Right well, I cleaned up the rear loom. Put it all together. Stripped down the front one as suggested by swarcup.
    3 large wires cut through the insulation touching.
    Then I noticed green all over the cable wrap the entire length. So I unwrapped the wiring, and gave each wire a pull. One snapped instantly. Then again and again and again. It turns out there was about 2 foot of wire that was completely corroded inside! Put a new length in and it's no longer throwing any codes.

    Still the same on the indicators though. So I'll check the siren as suggested.
    #19
  21. swarcup
    Offline

    swarcup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Sep 12, 2013]
    nice one getting there. If the siren isn't the cause try checking the wiring in the drivers door also
    #20
  22. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 12, 2013]
    I've had the siren out today and the batteries have leaked. There is damage to the circuit board which I've hopefully repaired using a fluid I have for repairing rear heater demisters.
    I don't have new batteries to replace the knackered ones though.
    Wierdly my coding isn't right and I can't make it right either.

    Address 46: Central Conv. Labels: 8E0-959-433-MIN.lbl
    Part No: 8E0 959 433 K
    Component: Komfortgerát T01 0313
    Coding: 04848
    Shop #: WSC 00000

    No fault code found.

    The options are:
    Coding
    • +00001 = GB-Alarm (not USA)
    • +00002 = Confirmation Anti-Theft Warning System (Blink)
    • +00004 = Selective Central Locking (SCL)
    • +00008 = Anti-Theft Warning System
    • +00016 = Rear Lid Release Locking at 5 km/h
    • +00032 = Central Locking at 15 km/h (or 10 mph)
    • +00064 = Comfort Function via Remote Control (not USA)
    • +00128 = Right Hand Drive (RHD)
    • +00256 = Avant
    • +00512 = Confirmation Close via Remote (1x Blink)
    • +01024 = Confirmation Anti-Theft Warning System Horn Activation
    • +02048 = Door-/Window Regulator Logic
    • +04096 = Thatcham Anti-Theft Warning (not USA)
    It won't let me add a 1 for GB alarm??

    No fault codes showing at all, so I'm certain the drivers door is fine.
    #21
  23. deano1978
    Offline

    deano1978 different gear

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    67
    [Sep 12, 2013]
    When my alarm started going barmy i replaced the battries with 5 AA rechargables rated @2500mah instead of the original 130mah.
    In sealed unit nxt to siren.
    #22
  24. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 12, 2013]
    Yeh I've seen that bud. I don't want to spend money on replacing the batteries if the unit is completely fudged though.
    #23
  25. deano1978
    Offline

    deano1978 different gear

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    67
    [Sep 12, 2013]
    My unit was fine inside. So knew the batteries had run their cycle.
    #24
  26. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,892
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Sep 12, 2013]
    Personally if the siren showed any sign of PCB damage I'd get another one to make sure. They're about £40 on ebay, and you could always put new batteries in it to be on the safe side.
    #25
  27. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    I'm worried about buying one and having the same issue though.

    James - On your car, with the siren out can you code in or out the alarm?

    I cannot get my car to accept the GB alarm or AWS.
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2013
    #26
  28. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    Little update.
    I've changed my central control unit under the dash and my indicators now work both sides. Thank god!! Been annoying me since 2009.

    Ordered a tested alarm.
    Took the drivers door loom out this afternoon, found 3 wires showing copper and touching. So that's all sorted.

    Just need that alarm now!!
    #27
  29. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,892
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    That's good. Where did you get the tested alarm from?

    And what module did you change?

    I've not had a chance to try coding mine at the moment, but it makes sense you can't code what's not there!
    #28
  30. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 13, 2013]
    Got it off eBay. the module was the central control. 09 on vcds.

    is the siren intelligent enough to stop coding even the interior sensors?
    #29
  31. deano1978
    Offline

    deano1978 different gear

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    67
    [Sep 14, 2013]
    Coding the alarm?????
    #30
  32. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 14, 2013]
    Current Coding: 04848

    +00001 = GB-Alarm (not USA)
    +00002 = Confirmation Anti-Theft Warning System (Blink)
    +00004 = Selective Central Locking (SCL)
    +00008 = Anti-Theft Warning System
    +00016 = Rear Lid Release Locking at 5 km/h
    +00032 = Central Locking at 15 km/h (or 10 mph)
    +00064 = Comfort Function via Remote Control (not USA)
    +00128 = Right Hand Drive (RHD)
    +00256 = Avant
    +00512 = Confirmation Close via Remote (1x Blink)
    +01024 = Confirmation Anti-Theft Warning System Horn Activation
    +02048 = Door-/Window Regulator Logic
    +04096 = Thatcham Anti-Theft Warning (not USA)


    The ones in bold are the only thing I can code into the CCM. Nothing else. Sorry I can code in 2048. But nothing else.
    #31
  33. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 14, 2013]
    Right!
    I'm been playing more, I have a photo of my CCM from earlier this year. The partnumber on the CCM is 8E0959433AB VCDS is saying it's 8E0959433K.

    According to this list:
    8E0 959 433 J - 433MHz, lighting package over the legs, crank
    8E0 959 433 K - 433 MHz, power windows at the back (or crank).
    8E0 959 433 L - 433MHz, leg space lighting package, rear power windows
    8E0 959 433 N
    8E0 959 433 Q
    8E0 959 433 R
    8E0 959 433 S
    8E0 959 433 T
    8E0 959 433 AA
    8E0 959 433 AB - factory alarm, 433MHz, rear power windows
    8E0 959 433 AC - factory alarm, 433MHz, rear power windows
    8E0 959 433 AD - 433 MHz, power windows at the back (or crank).
    8E0 959 433 AE - 433MHz, rear power windows
    8E0 959 433 AF - 433MHz, leg space lighting package, power windows in the rear.
    8E0 959 433 AG
    8E0 959 433 AH - factory alarm, 433MHz, leg space lighting package, power windows in the rear.
    8E0 959 433 AJ - factory alarm, 433MHz, leg space lighting package, rear power windows (or crank).
    8E0 959 433 AK - factory alarm, 433MHz, leg space lighting package, rear power windows
    8E0 959 433 AL - factory alarm, 433MHz, crank
    8E0 959 433 AM - 433 MHz, packet feet of space lighting, crank
    8E0 959 433 AN
    8E0 959 433 AP - 433MHz, rear power windows
    8E0 959 433 AQ - 433MHz, crank

    K doesn't cover alarm.
    Which is weird, cause my alarm HAS worked in the past. Could it have suddenly changed part numbers??
    #32
  34. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 15, 2013]
    I suddenly remembered last night. When I bought the car. There was no coding in the ccm at all. When I opened the drivers door, the dash would say it was the passenger door. So... it would seem it has had the wrong ccm fitted and put into the case of a AB rather than the K box.

    Very odd. Ordered a new one though.
    #33
  35. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 17, 2013]
    Well all sorted.
    It was as thought the wrong CCM. Still don't understand why it's got AB on the box but K on vcds. Fully coded and working now. New alarm turned up and it doesn't work. Tested the one in the A6 in the A4 and it's all good. So just need to sort an alarm now.
    #34
  36. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,892
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Sep 17, 2013]
    Glad you go it fixed. Funny about the alarm, and I was so impressed you had been able to buy a 'tested' one!
    #35
  37. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 17, 2013]
    I know, slightly annoyed tbh. But ho hum.
    The issue with the lights not flashing when it locks is your CCM though sorry James.
    #36
  38. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,811
    Likes Received:
    501
    [Sep 17, 2013]
    the ccm or cem ?
    under seat or under dash ?
    #37
  39. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,892
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Sep 17, 2013]
    I'll add it to the list! As long as that's the only issue that manifests itself I'll live with it!
    #38
  40. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 17, 2013]
    CCM under the seat for the lights not flashing.
    CEM Under the dash for the indicator problem I had.
    #39
  41. BlackQuat
    Offline

    BlackQuat Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Sep 25, 2013]
    All fixed now.
    I ordered a new style siren.
    #40

Share This Page