1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What turbo should I use for 350 - 400hp target?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by dj_rzn, Apr 25, 2014.

  1. dj_rzn

    dj_rzn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    6
    Still getting parts for my little S3 8l project car, and I am still undecided what turbo should I get for 350 - 400hp ?

    I have read a lot about hybrid K04 but it can't push more than 300 - 320hp, I don't want to change all the pipes and everything, is there any bolt-on solution? Is the K04 from 2.0TFSI capable of producing 350hp?

    Any ideas?
     
    #1 dj_rzn, Apr 25, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2014
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. badger5

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    9,166
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    GTX2867
     
  4. dj_rzn

    dj_rzn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks badger, I see you have some interesting things on ebay that I will definitely need, stay in touch and thanks for the support!
     
  5. slappy_dunbar

    slappy_dunbar Let's Do This

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    20
    GTX2863. Hehe.
     
  6. snowy

    snowy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    91
    or even the GTX2860R
     
  7. StaceyS3

    StaceyS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    450
    Gtx3071r will walk it with plenty left in reserve.....i know where one will be up for sale lol ;)
     
  8. Gary_808

    Gary_808 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    11
    For sale you say... Tell me more!
     
  9. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    20,281
    Likes Received:
    3,474
    I am sure Stacey has an ad in the classifieds somewhere so you can discuss it rather than on this thread :)

    <tuffty/>
     
    Prawn likes this.
  10. dj_rzn

    dj_rzn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    6
    Are any of these turbos bolt-on?
     
  11. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    20,281
    Likes Received:
    3,474
    No such thing as a 'bolt on' 400hp turbo dude... anything beyond the K04 requires custom work of some description.... off the shelf bolt on mods don't support power levels much beyond std K04's let alone larger framed turbo's...

    So called big turbo 'kits' are mostly rubbish... all the ons I have seen use **** water and oil lines and supply really cheap hardware... plus don't contain all the supporting stuff needed for this power level

    There are a few big turbo threads on here (mine included) that are worth a read to get you up to speed with what to expect

    <tuffty/>
     
  12. dj_rzn

    dj_rzn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    6
    Is there any point in getting a stroker kit? Really taking it into consideration since I still have to change the internal parts of the engine.

    Thanks for your support!
     
  13. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    20,281
    Likes Received:
    3,474
    Yes... going stroker was one of the best things I did on my build... makes loads of difference to off boost driveability and helps spool too...

    <tuffty/>
     
  14. dj_rzn

    dj_rzn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    6
    What stroker kit would you recommend?
     
  15. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    20,281
    Likes Received:
    3,474
    Ermm... I guess the integrated engineering ones... I just bought a crank from TPS, IE drilled rods and CP pistons... biggest issue with the IE one is its shipped from the states and the crank is massively heavy... not sure how this affects the postage costs... might be cheaper to get a crank from TPS (around £550 ish iirc) and get the rest of the bits from IE...

    If you want to get the stuff from the UK then Bill at Badger5 can supply the rods, pistons and bearings etc

    <tuffty/>
     
  16. badger5

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    9,166
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    and crank
     
  17. StaceyS3

    StaceyS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    450
    Oops is a bit of a shameless plug lol

    Need to actually get round to putting it up for sale officially

    Won't pollute any more ;)
     
  18. StaceyS3

    StaceyS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,471
    Likes Received:
    450
    Sorry haven't really been all that helpful at all :(

    In all seriousness if you are 100% certain you haven't got any incline you'll want more at a later date I'd go TFSI turbo setup like prawn

    But if there's the slightest bit of doubt I'd get something else that'll either leave headroom for more or allow a turbo swap out like a T3 or v-band setup of some description then can always upgrade easier at a later date and save a fortune in the long run

    Wish I hadn't have kidded myself in the first place and gone all out or at least a gt28 in a swappable framework so the rest of the hardware would have remained each time :)
     
    snowy likes this.

Share This Page