1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what turbo have i got already?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by emery1990, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. emery1990
    Offline

    emery1990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ive read in quite a few places that the 180 standard a3 has a k03s turbo in it, is this true, i have a 52 plate. would save a alot of money if so as planning to go for a k03s later on.
    #1
  2. A3Tom
    Offline

    A3Tom Smell my finger.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    11
    Should have a KO3s already mate.

    T
    #2
  3. emery1990
    Offline

    emery1990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    2
    sweeet..is that a remap to 220 ( then vaiours other mods could get it to like 240 odd , or is the the safest limit to tune to ? as i thought the k03 is safe up to 220 bhp ?
    #3
  4. A3Tom
    Offline

    A3Tom Smell my finger.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    11

    Yeah I think a phase one remap should be 220bhp or there abouts for sure.

    Budget for a forge 007p dump valve and get yourself a decent panel filter. Be aware though that a remap will highlight any faults you may have. My throttle body was crudded up so my idle was up and down all over the place when I got my map, 5 minutes with some intake cleaner sorted it though.

    T
    #4
  5. emery1990
    Offline

    emery1990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    2
    ok thanks, if they do find a fault will they fix for you then carry on with the remap, yer im about to buy a dv, then the panel filter then the intake hose forge one, then a fmic, dont have a clue about prices for them though, £100 turborevs, but getting it fitted. then a remap
    #5
  6. A3Tom
    Offline

    A3Tom Smell my finger.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    11
    Depends what the fault is chap!. I wouldnt worry too much though, my car was scanned and there were no issues which came as a shock to me :)
    #6
  7. emery1990
    Offline

    emery1990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    2
    yer true i cant tell anything up with it, goes like a bomb and sounds nice, part from that tube i still havnt reconnected ? god knows what it is anyway.
    #7
  8. ianysm
    Offline

    ianysm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    0
    My car needed new coil packs as it mis fired as soon as remapped.

    I got Forge DV, and panel filter in with the remap, all for £350. JBS in Chesterfield did this

    I also believe all of the 180bhp models (vRS, A3 TQS, Golf GTI anniversary) have the K03S so you're sorted for 220+

    Trying to persuade my mate in his Octavia vRS to get it done. Fine cars those
    #8
  9. emery1990
    Offline

    emery1990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    2
    thats a good deal, was it a custom map, i needs a 4wd rolling rad aswell, ive been quoted £500, ill ask them if they could stick in some freebies probs a panel filter or something, getting my forge dv tomorow hopefully
    #9
  10. ianysm
    Offline

    ianysm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes CC stage one. Quite happy with their service ot be fair. Ended up costing me about £500 with spark plugs and new coil packs but glad i did it.

    Didn't get it rolling roaded though. I doubt i'd like the results. But i am curious. Trouble is, it starts the long process of finding more power!!!
    #10
  11. emery1990
    Offline

    emery1990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    2
    yer true lol, yer im going to get a new intake hose, debating a fmic due to the cost of it, then a remap, and filter of course, but undecided on fmic on that ill be able to get a good 220bhp from it, dont no if ill need tt injectors though ?
    #11
  12. ianysm
    Offline

    ianysm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    0
    FMIC is something to try once the map and other possible mods are done (exhaust?) as its so expensive! A jump to 220bhp will be a very smiley new lease of life for you!! 210-260 was for me!!
    #12
  13. emery1990
    Offline

    emery1990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    2
    yer they seem pricey, yer ill proablly get some more airflow going in, yer i bet itll feeel well faster, 40bhp thats alot!
    #13
  14. Gareth_RS3
    Offline

    Gareth_RS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd recommend going for the map first that will put a smile on your face for sure and then start saving for a FMIC as you'll need one to keep it from heatsoaking badly.

    Im getting mine fitted thid weekend and cannot wait :)
    #14
  15. emery1990
    Offline

    emery1990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    2
    ahh kushd,, how much you paying for that. got my forge 077 and green panel filter today !! casued more trouble that good i think though !
    #15
  16. Gareth_RS3
    Offline

    Gareth_RS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    100 quid the cooler, 250 for the hoses, polished pipe work and the mikalor clamps roll on sunday...
    #16

Share This Page