1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What turbo does a 2000 plate S3 use? K03 or K04?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by scottydouk, Feb 7, 2013.

  1. scottydouk
    Offline

    scottydouk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a quick question as new to the Audi S3 world.
    What turbo does a 2000 plate S3 use? K03 or K04? Is there a way to tell the difference?
    All help appreciated.
    #1
  2. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,764
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    All S3's use a K04 variant

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  3. scottydouk
    Offline

    scottydouk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers. Would you know what boost pressure they run standard?
    #3
  4. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,295
    Likes Received:
    969
    11psi
    #4
  5. Vex182
    Offline

    Vex182 Guess what I drive...

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    57
    Think it's about 10/11 psi
    #5
  6. scottydouk
    Offline

    scottydouk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    So my car must of been remapped to run 1.2bar. Is that a good pressure to run on a standard turbo? Im used to Jap cars and modifiying them.
    #6
  7. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 RIP S3dave Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,269
    Likes Received:
    670
    its a safe level of boost...
    any spikes?
    #7
  8. scottydouk
    Offline

    scottydouk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats good to know as previous owner wasnt sure who mapped it as was owner before him.
    Doesnt seem to go above 1.2bar and holds it constantly.
    Drives very smooth and goes well.
    Have put more modifications on it now, so could do with a remap to benefit. Im in Kent area, are AMD any good?
    #8

Share This Page