1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What turbo does a 2000 plate S3 use? K03 or K04?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by scottydouk, Feb 7, 2013.

  1. scottydouk

    scottydouk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a quick question as new to the Audi S3 world.
    What turbo does a 2000 plate S3 use? K03 or K04? Is there a way to tell the difference?
    All help appreciated.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,210
    Likes Received:
    2,402
    All S3's use a K04 variant

    <tuffty/>
     
  4. scottydouk

    scottydouk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers. Would you know what boost pressure they run standard?
     
  5. Westy

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,376
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    11psi
     
  6. Vex182

    Vex182 Guess what I drive...

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    78
    Think it's about 10/11 psi
     
  7. scottydouk

    scottydouk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    So my car must of been remapped to run 1.2bar. Is that a good pressure to run on a standard turbo? Im used to Jap cars and modifiying them.
     
  8. badger5

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,245
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    its a safe level of boost...
    any spikes?
     
  9. scottydouk

    scottydouk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats good to know as previous owner wasnt sure who mapped it as was owner before him.
    Doesnt seem to go above 1.2bar and holds it constantly.
    Drives very smooth and goes well.
    Have put more modifications on it now, so could do with a remap to benefit. Im in Kent area, are AMD any good?
     

Share This Page